Basic Buttermilk Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Excellent recipe! My husband loves muffins and I'm always looking for a recipe that has all the things I have on hand ~ plus adding whatever else I want to. Thanks for sharing this! I'll be using it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gail Cobile
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Knew it would be raining by morning and wanted to start DH's day with a bit of sunshine. So, now these are my sunshine muffins! Please know that the dough is VERY stiff and if I had not added about another 1/4 cup of buttermilk, the blueberries I added would have been destroyed if they had not been frozen. These muffins have a delightful flavor. DH took 3 to work for AM coffee break and just called to tell me to save this recipe. Done! I'm making some to go in DD's freezer and using the suggested chopped apples and cinnamon. BIG hit! BIG, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I followed the directions exactly, then added 1 tsp cinnamon, chopped apples, and some raisins. The flavor is good, but, as another reviewer noted, the batter is VERY stiff. I added about 1/4 C more buttermilk. Still very stiff, and possibly now over-mixed. Only baked about 17 minutes, and they were still dry. I'll try again, but I'll adjust the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I love baking with buttermilk because always produces a tender muffin. I am sure that this recipe calls for too much flour. I find that 2 cups is ample and this way do not have to add more liquid. Also suggest using an ex. large egg. Hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Just a comment for everybody on the stiffness - it is a pretty stiff batter, but one thing that might help is that I weigh my flour - 303 grams is about 2 1/4 cups for me, but your flour may be heavier/more packed! Try weighing out 303 grams and see if that helps. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This is a great base! I prefer using whole wheat flour so I used 2 cups. And I switched out the white sugar for cane sugar. 1 tsp of cinnamon. 1 cup of blueberries and 1/2 a cup of chopped pecans. They turned out moist and delicious! Cant wait to try with other fruit! Thanks DCKatie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This really is exactly what the recipe title states: a basic muffin. It's light, moist, and the perfect base for embellishing however you'd like. I added chopped apples and some cinnamon to the batter and then before baking, sprinkled the tops with a cinnamon-sugar mixture. As instructed, I filled the muffin batter almost to the top and ended up with ten nice-sized muffins. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I had buttermilk to use and actually found this recipe by a beautiful picture that lutzflcat posted on 31, Dec. The muffin is nice and moist and held it's shape nicely. I also had huge blackberries to use, so I added those to this recipe. My regular size muffin tins must be smaller than other regular size tins as I got 18 muffins from this recipe. Nice base for a muffin and as the submitter suggests, very easy to add your own "add-ins".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
These muffins taste great, they were a nice color and texture... my kids loved them but the papers stick to the muffins... why does it do that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedarville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I made these blueberry muffins by folding two cups of fresh blueberries into the batter when I added the dry ingredients. I sprinkled a little sugar over each muffin before baking. Very good. I'll try these again with chopped Granny Smith apples and apple pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States