Basic Buttermilk Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Tasted fine, but had a weird aftertaste. Kind of like chemicals?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I made these and used whole wheat pastry flour instead of all purpose. Perhaps that's why they came out strange. Not sure. They made beautiful muffins but the flavor left me wanting... Something. For me they were just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Nice verso tile muffin mix. I never make muffins the same way twice. First time I replaced a cup of flour with granola added more spices carrots and pecans. Whole family lived them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I tinkered slightly. Used only 2 cups of flour. Accidentally added 1 cup of sugar instead of 1/2 cup. Added 1/2 teaspoon cardamon to the cinnamon. I used 1 cup of golden raisins and 1 cup of chopped pecans. Once baked, I brushed on leftover buttermilk glaze from the "Cafeteria Lady Cake" that can be found in "From Our Grandmothers' Kitchens" (America's Test Kitchen). The resulting muffins were incredible! Because of the bulk of my add-in's I ended up with 16 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I followed the directions exactly and once my dry ingredients were mixed together, i removed 1/2 cup into another bowl to avoid too dry a batter. I then mixed in my wet ingredients and scooped that into my muffin cups. Feeling like the muffins could use a little something extra and not having any blueberries in the house, plus not wanting to waste the remaining 1/2 c. of dry ingredients, i dedided to use it in a streusel topping. I added 1/4 c. butter, 2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, 1/2 c. chopped walnuts, 1 TB brown sugar, and crumbled it all together and topped the muffins with this. They were moist and my husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
The batter was very stiff. I added 1/3c more buttermilk to make a more normal muffin batter then added 1C of blueberries and baked at 375deg. for 18 minutes but had to add on 4 more minute. Next time I will bake at 400deg which is a more normal baking temp. for muffins. Final product was good at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I love that I can add different things&very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
So good! I will use this recipe forever. I was looking for a recipe that I could use my leftover whey from making my own yogurt with and this worked perfect since you can use whey as a substitute for buttermilk. :-) The first time I made these, I used whole wheat flour and put blueberries in. Had to bake a few min longer, but turned out so good! Second time, I'm using regular flour and blackberries and substituted cinnamon for the nutmeg. I'm sure they will be just as delicious! Great basic recipe that's easy to adjust to your own taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Made these twice at Christmas time. First time followed recipe as written with the following add-ons: 1 chopped apple and about 1/2 cup each of cranberries and chopped walnuts. Delicious. Second time followed the recipe with the same add-ons as before but omitted sugar and gave some to a diabetic couple at church. Came out kind of biscuit-like but still quite good, especially with honey butter. Recipe can be tweaked so many ways...it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamaduke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Yikes. These did not work for me. The batter was so dry I just had to add 1/4 cup more of buttermilk. In my opinion there is just too much flour in this recipe. I usually read many reviews before trying a recipe and I didn't this time. Wish I did. I added blueberries to mine but the flavour of the "biscuit muffin" just isn't there. I understand what everyone means by the muffin sticking to the paper. Only half the actual muffin comes out whole. I won't be making these again. Sorry DCKatie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States