Basic Broiled Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ellenmoriah
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This is one of those recipes you might read and pass by because, hey, what could olive oil, salt, and pepper do for some pieces of chicken. Well, here's what they can do: they'll jet-pack you back to when your mom made chicken for a weekday night (even though it's flavorful and divine enough to serve to guests). It will also let the cooked chicken speak pretty much for itself, without smothering it in a sauce. I confess I was leery. I wanted to add rosemary, or oregano, or (good grief) even Lawry's Seasoned Salt. But I resisted and, I must say, it was worth it. The ingredients are simple, and that makes it an easy dish to make. If you use organic chicken breasts, it's going to be moist in any case. But adding the olive oil, salt, and pepper, blend in a way that might make you swoon in the way I swooned when I ate it. Simple, homey, cozy, and (in so many ways) perfect. Next time you're in a hurry for a knock-'em-dead meal, serve this up as the main player. I'm pretty sure you'll wow whoever's eating. This is one fine recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Quick easy & tastes GREAT ! only used 2 boneless/skinless breasts.. had instant taters, California mix veggies.. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Delicious and simple recipe! I used boneless breasts and they turned out really tender, will definately use this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by urbanmagnolia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Delicious! I love flavor, and often fall victim to overspicing dishes in search of the flavor I want. This dish just goes to show you that a few simple ingredients can absolutely be enough. I ued boneless/skinless that were cut extremely thin, and took 3-4 minutes of total broiling time -- crispy outside, and juicy inside. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Moist and delicious. Was not expecting it to taste as good as it did. I boiled mine for a few minutes first because the chicken was not totally thawed. Couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Never did this before, but I will be doing it a lot more now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Made this recipe for my family, they all started putting ranch dressing on it. The chicken was not overcooked, it was very moist and juicy, however it was very plain. Hence the ranch dressing. ..... It really just needed more flavor. Next time I want to make broiled chicken i will just use a regular marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Very flavorful and pairs with basically any dish effortlessly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
AMAZING recipe! So simple and yet so tasty!! The chicken was perfectly cooked, with the perfect amount of flavor. I actually made a sauce on the side just in case it was too bland, And I didn't even touch the sauce! The only thing I did different was I baked the chicken for about 35 mins before broiling it since I had some of things baking too. Then I just broiled it for 3-4 mins each side to make the skin nice and crispy!! This is going to become a regular in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
They need more flavor. Just using oil, salt and pepper came out very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Breasts

A crunchy chop salad gives roasted chicken contrasts of taste, color, & texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States