Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
I don't know how the other guys handle the dough in this recipes, but I choose it anyway, despite the bad reviews because of the low fat content. Couple of tips for this recipes: 1)Do not "overub-in" the butter. Yes! please use butter for the flavour, instead of the margarine. 2)Make sure everything is extremely cold. 3)Do not knead the dough for more than 8-10 times, even when there are crumbs left behind, just pat them onto the dough when you shape it out on the cookie sheet. 4)Instead of cream of tartar and baking soda, add 2 tsps of baking powder. I made many many scones before, but never ever cut any of them into circles as suggested in recipes. Instead roll the dough out into a 6" circle and scour the circle into 6 triangles is my favourite method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
This is the only scone recipe you need! These turn out perfect every time and they're not loaded with fat like some scones. I make these with butter instead of margarine and I usually use 3 tablespoons of sugar instead of 2 (1/8 cup). Good additions are 1 tablespoon of orange zest and dried cranberries or 1/2 cup frozen blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Finally! The perfect scone recipe. And easy. Forget the creme recipes & stuff. I substituted butter and baked at 450 for 12-15 minutes and added a tad more sugar. Also- roll out thick because mine did not rise. And I've added stuff in, like cranberries and orange, etc. It's great- you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
These were quick and easy to make. I had planned to add some blueberries, but when I saw the dough was pretty dense I was afraid they would get all broken up if I tried to mix them in. I also decided to cut the scones into triangles. I wasn't sure how much the scones would spread as they baked, and since they hardly spread at all, my triangles were too small. BUT, they tasted great in spite of all this and I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Very Delicious! I made first batch straight off of the recipe and it was perfect: light and airy scone, not heavy like others. Second time I made it I made 4 large scone: 1 plain, 1 with dried cranberries and almond slices, 1 with chocolate chips, and 1 with berry jam (a little wet, I added more flour) swirled in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
Very good! I made these for my Scottish friends and they loved them. I added mini-chocolate chips to one batch and raspberry jam to another. They took a little longer to bake than the recipe ways, but that could be my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
Thanks Angela! Very easy to make and a great basic scone. I made mine with half whole wheat and butter. I think these are lighter than those at Tea & Sympathy, and therefore better for my diet. Of course those at T&S are a wonderful treat now and then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
These were absolutely delicious! Very easy to make, too. I tried sprinkling some cinnamon and sugar on top before I baked them, and that came out quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
These are great! I think I'll probably double the recipe next time since they went so fast. I improvised a little by mixing strawberry jam in half the dough and chocolate chips in the the other... they came out great, and they're tastiest right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Great recipe! I'm half English and my grandmother used to make these all the time. If you want these to rise and be sure to use self-rising flour vs. all-purpose (still add the same amounts of cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt). I used light butter instead of margarine. If you want to make things easier, freeze the butter and then grate it with a cheese grater into the flour mixture. Always use half and half. You don't have to knead the dough very much and if you're not good at it, just spoon the mixture onto the parchment paper. They'll bake up just like biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States