Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
These scones were great! I used buttermilk instead of regular milk and I added half a cup of blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
These scones were small, flat, and without much flavor. I live in the UK and go out for tea and scones often. These tasted more like Bisquick biscuits. They are nothing compared to a real British scone. I doubt they compare to something in NYC either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Made exactly as written except with butter rather than margarine. Really not good. Flavorless. Where's the egg? It's needed for lightness. No sweetness - I know scones should not be too sweet so you can put your clotted cream and jam on, but these were awful leaden weights we ended up throwing out to the birds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This turned out better by making the scones larger (one batch = 6 scones instead of 12)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
These scones are light and fluffy. However, I made the following changes as other reviewers recommended- I used a half and half of cream and milk, two teaspoonfuls of baking powder instead of cream-of-tartar and baking soda, split the batter into four parts and made many different fillings/toppings. I made-- rainbow sprinkles with caramel buttercream, peanut bu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I made a slightly denser, whole wheat, bran and real butter version (see custom versions). This recipe as-is is really good but i would encourage cutting in the shortening as for pie crust, and using butter. Coconut oil is a good vegan substitute for butter. Also standard recipe took my oven 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoshi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hercules, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
These are so good and so easy! I miss scones now I live in NY and this recipe makes absolutely delicious scones! The only issue is that this recipe only makes 6 scones, not 12, or maybe I'm just making them too big?? My American husband loves these too. I eat them with my own homemade strawberry jam and I'm still trying to locate a good way to make clotted cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
oops..didn't cook as recipe outlined...added cold butter not margarine....made some plain for strawberries and some with tasty goodies, my fav orange zest and raisin with cream cheese and powdered sugar frosting!! and of course coffee..Starbucks yuck! Mine yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoakay
Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
We loved this one! I followed ingredients/instructions but did use Stevia (3 TBS) instead of sugar and butter instead of margarine. Light and tender with a very nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I use this recipe quite often. I do add some cranberries or raisins and such sometimes. It's wonderful everytime I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lambertfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States