Basic British Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
These are awesome. The only thing I did different was replace the margarine with butter and increased the sugar to 1/4 cup. My husband is a scone addict and would always buy them at Starbucks. Now he won't even give those ones a second glance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
These scones were delicious! We cooked them a little bit longer to get a nice golden brown color, but overall the recipe worked very well. Especially with Crab Apple Jelly! :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
These were okay. I think that with some tweaking, they could be better. I would make them again, but next time I would make a double recipe, roll the dough a little thicker, and use a bigger cutter to yield larger scones. I would also add a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Colchester, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
We loved these, but I did add some ingredients to make them a little more "fun". I halved the batch and made one with chocolate chips. To the other one, I added cinnamon, nutmeg, white chocolate chips and finely crushed walnuts. My daughters and husband liked them and called them "breakfast cookies".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I loved this recipe. As everyone else does, made a few modifications. Added 1/4 c. sugar. Sometimes add cranberries & orange zest, other times add mini choc chips. Didn't roll out - divided into 12 sections and rolled each into a ball. Slightly flattened to 3/4" and baked. Drizzled with glaze. My kids LOVE these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
My go to recipe for scones! Quick, easy and taste great! I usually add cinnamon and chocolate chips or dried fruit just to make them even yummier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I added cinnamon and raisins and these were quite good. They are not very sweet, but very tasty. I would suggest making them larger than 2" rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Very Good! Used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 2 tbsp sugar. Next time will roll to 1" thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Wow these were great! I used the exact ingredients and they came out perfect. One thing i would suggest is to use a slightly bigger cutter like a 2 and a half inch instead of a 2 since they were quite small. Its a good recipe so i'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scarborough, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I've never had an actual English scone, but these turned out great for me! I made them plain to serve underneath a homemade strawberry topping! I did add 1/8 teaspoon ea. of vanilla and cinnamon, for my own touch. I cut them about 3" diameter and smooshed a slight bowl in the middle to hold some of the strawberries. Pretty danged good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miketheday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States