Basic Brine for Smoking Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
We doubled the recipe to brine 4 chicken leg quarters overnight. We threw the legs in a pan and put the pan in the smoker the next day. A few hours later, we ate the most delectable, fall off the bone tender chicken ever made! Delicious! Can't wait to try it with a turkey this Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIGOLD1199

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
My family loves when i use this recipe for smoking turkeys. Just can't say enough about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I used this for a 7-8 pound pork shoulder. Made 2 batches of the brine and added the meat rub to the solution. WOW!!! This turned out fantastic. I will deff be using this all the time now and cannot wait for Thanksgiving to use this on my turkey. Thank you so much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYLN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I scaled this up to make 4 gallons to brine a 65 pound pig to roast for the 4th of July this year. It was perfect. The meat came out very tender. The perfect base for using Western North Carolina Vinegar Barbeque Sauce from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Used a roaster chicken and we smoked it after letting it sit in brine for 24 hrs. It was so moist and flavorful. Can't wait to do this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I smoked a turkey breast using this recipe and it was very good and the turkey was juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I like to experiment with different spices, but overall this is an excellent brine. I never put a pork loin in the smoker without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Sometimes simple is the best!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Super simple and perfect. I used chicken thighs, and smoked them on the grill after sitting in the brine for a day and a half. They came out AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I used this for a pork roast this past weekend. It was awesome. I don't think I will smoke meat again without brining it first. I brined two turkey breast a couple of weeks ago and they too turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rusty Chicken Thighs

See how to make a simple marinade for gorgeous grilled or broiled chicken.

Easy Grilled Chicken Teriyaki

Tender and juicy grilled teriyaki chicken.

Chef John’s Grilled Game Hens

This spicy, creamy, garlicky marinade is great for game hens or chicken pieces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States