Basic Brine for Smoking Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I tried this for the first time on a pork shoulder that I smoked. It came out very tender. I added liquid smoke, garlic, paprika, and soy sauce. Remeber to cut back on the salt if you use soy sauce. I used 1/8 cup of salt and 1/8 cup soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Brining your meat is the best way to go. That is the only way you can achieve maximum moisture to the meats. For poultry i like to use citrus fruits in there with garlic, sherry wine and soy sauce. Instead of sugar as sweetner try molasses. Wonderfully succulent!!!! It's nice to know that someone else knows how to smoke their meat. S.Vanderau
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Wonderful way to brine. I tried several recipes over the holidays and my husband loved this recipe. He said the turkey was extremely juicy. Will be cooking with this one again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
This was a pretty good brine - it made for a very succulent smoked pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Nothing fancy, but works well. I used this on our Thanksgiving Day turkey. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
This was my first brine to use. I didn't use the brown sugar though :) I am not into a lot of sweet on my grill. I dont use sugar in my bbq sauce or on my meats. But it was a good base and gave me a ratio of salt to water to work with. Thanks. Worked fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Hey "Smokin' Ron"; your name may be hot, but your recipe is really cool! I bought my hubby a smoker for Valentines Day and because we FINALLY had a beautiful warm weekend, he decided to christian it. He smoked a salmon filet and it was abolutely wonderful! Drew took your advice and added soy sauce and various seasonings. I love fish, but salmon isn't one of my favorites, however, this fish smoked is absolutely awesome!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Great Brine. Very tender after soaking all night in the frig. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
I've been using the basic recipe for over a year now. I make a 2-3 or 4 gallon batch and use a tote bin I got from Wal-Mart. When I smoke I smoke between 4-10 turkeys and various other meats. If you get the turkies split-they brine better, they stack better to utilize the space in the brine and the smoke permeates the birds better. I've added apple juice,hot red pepper,onion soup mix,fresh onion and peppers from the garden,and seasonings like worcestershire sauce,soy,teriacki and jamican jerk to spice up the brine. I like to "pickle" my meats 2-3 days about 38-40 degrees.I also like to inject some of the brine into them. Just lay em on the racks for 8-12 hours depending how hot your smoker is, and your good to go. Slow and low-the best way to go. Share your ideas and recipes here. Keep Smokin Ron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIG MIKE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
I have added liquid smoke to my Brine. It seems to enhance the flavor of the hickory smoke. Great recipe. Thanks, John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOKSHU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Grilled Game Hens

This spicy, creamy, garlicky marinade is great for game hens or chicken pieces.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States