Basic Brine for Smoking Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
uesed this today on a deer roast,a brisket and some pork chops. Put all in the smoker with no other spices just wood chips and apple juce. will never smoke again without using a birne.this one is a keeper simple yet great thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Made our pork shoulder amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilysmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I have smoked pork spareribs on many occasions, this time I wanted to try brineing them. I used this brine in proportion (2c salt, 2 cup sugar, 2 gallons water). soak for 5 hours and slow smoked for 5 hours @ 225deg (to 165 deg.internal when done.) I used 1/2 Jack Daniels chips and 1/2 hickory. EVERYBODY loved them! ... Except me. To me they were just *OK*. I wasn't please with the outside fat, it had a weird feel that turned me off. I later thought perhaps a quick finish on the grill may be on order. The rest of the house says FIVE stars but my opinion is 4. It is simple and does season the meat well without being overly salty. (Almost forgot, I rinsed the ribs before smoking.)It keeps the meat juicy, even on a long smoke. Will try adding spices next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOGGWILD89

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
GREAT GREAT GREAT. We brined a 7 pound pork roast for 12 hours. We multiplied everything by 5 (20 cups water, 1 1/4 c kosher salt and 1 1/4 c brown sugar) and added 1/4 to 1/2 cup of liquid crab boil and was amazing! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Worked great for my pork butt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
There is no need to leave the meat in the brine for more than overnight. In a pinch 6 hours will still get enough extra moisture in the meat to do a quick smoke. I like to smoke my pork shoulder for a full 12-16 hours though so I always let it go overnight in the brine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Used on first time brine, first time boston butt, first time smoker. It was amazing. Didn't know it was possible to make pork so moist and tender. (Used spice rub)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
We used this brine to smoke a whole chicken on our new smoker. This was a test chicken and boy was it GOOD! We well be using this again for our Christmas turkey, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I used this for a pork roast this past weekend. It was awesome. I don't think I will smoke meat again without brining it first. I brined two turkey breast a couple of weeks ago and they too turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Super simple and perfect. I used chicken thighs, and smoked them on the grill after sitting in the brine for a day and a half. They came out AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rusty Chicken Thighs

See how to make a simple marinade for gorgeous grilled or broiled chicken.

Easy Grilled Chicken Teriyaki

Tender and juicy grilled teriyaki chicken.

Chef John’s Grilled Game Hens

This spicy, creamy, garlicky marinade is great for game hens or chicken pieces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States