Basic Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I needed a stuffing mix to use in 'Bruschetta Chicken Bake' another AR recipe and didn't want to use the boxed version. This recipe came together very quickly and was a great sub for the boxed brand. I like celery in my stuffing, so that is the only change that I made. I would make this quick and basic stuffing to use with that recipe again or to stuff a chicken or turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I use this basic recipe but use poultry seasoning, and also add 2 celery stalks chopped fine, as well as a small onion chopped fine. Ads great flavor and all are healthy. I omit the egg...still works well and holds together if too dry try additional 1/4 cup o chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Very bland. I even added smoked almonds, onion powder, garlic powder and sundry other things to pump it up and it was still a flop. It was also kind of mushy. Healthy, yes. Delicious, not so much. Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Comiskey-Hill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was one of the simplest stuffing I've prepared. I used the breads I wanted to finish up, whole wheat, rye and some white rolls. I added apples and walnuts to it. It came out wonderful and i will use the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
1 tablespoon of paprika?Maybe other reviewers only added a teaspoon, I did a double take and then eventually trusted the recipe which was a big mistake. I made it outside of a turkey and it came out really really soggy as well. Given other reviewers remarks there may be some subtleties in getting the right volume of liquid in the final product. The soggy paprika bread-soup that resulted was comically bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
When I do dressing I make a 9x13 pan full of coucornbread No sugar add poultry seasoning, sage, celery, onion,etc. and cook it in the cornbread with jumbo eggs and milk. cook in 375 degree oven until done then I use 2 large packets seasoned dressing mix crumble the cornbread in with seasoned mix enough broth to make it juicy add salt and pepper. Bake until done. It won't take as long because veggies are cooked some. I also add 6 or 8 raw eggs into mixture this will give texture ane hold it together. I use diluted broth from turkey and add chicken broth as needed. I taste it to see what else it needs. I use the roate rpan I cook the bird in.cook till ia knifr inserted in crnter comed ouy clern. Abut 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This recipe is so simple, and the possibilities are endless! I have yet to stuff it in my turkey, but had to try it now and leave a review. It's delicious! I increased the recipe for 16 servings. I used a loaf of jalapeno-cheddar bread and a little bit of challah bread instead of whole-grain. To the paprika, salt and pepper I added sage, parsley and rosemary. With the onions I also cooked mushrooms, green pepper, red pepper, yellow pepper, leeks and garlic. I only had a cup of broth, so for the remainder I combined chicken soup base and water as necessary. The end flavour is a wonderful seasoned vegetables stuffing, with a "kick" from the jalapenos. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
So good. I made mine with apple cider instead of chicken broth, added raisins, cinnamon & nutmeg. It came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPYKE2831

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was a very simple recipe to follow! I toasted bread before cutting, I used vegetable broth instead of Chicken, 2 onions, a pinch of cayenne, and real egg. Used it in a broccoli casserole dish and turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I have never made stuffing from scratch before in my life. This recipe was so easy and soooooo good. I'm not a stuffing eatter, but I got nothing but compliments and an empty dish by the time Thanksgiving dinner was over. I will definately be making my stuffing myself from now on. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States