Basic Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
Pretty Good. I added mushrooms & it was kind of gluppy so I broke up the glup pieces half-way through cooking. I think my bread crumbs weren't fresh enough also. Not really the recipe's fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
I used challah bread because I forgot to buy the bread for this, plus I added dried cranberries and toasted walnuts to this for Christmas 2001. It was really, really easy and tasted great. I plan on using this same recipe with different variations for next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Payne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Ours turned out too dry - could be our fault. The recipe didn't call for it, but I think it should have been covered (we cooked ours outside the bird). I'll try it that way next time and see if it remedies the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I cooked the onions first. Almost to a carmelized affect, then added a tablespoon of sugar and 3 tablespoons of butter in with the onions in the pan. On the side I tore off fresh bread into cube or smaller size and poured chicken broth on it. You want the bread completely covered but not drenched. Then mix the bread in the pan and cook on medium keep turning every few 5 mintues letting the mix get a little golden brown. Again I added some more butter, about 2-3 tablespoons and some salt and pepper. Afterwards add to the bird or cook in the oven. I found in the bird the stuffing was moist alone it was more dry. So you may want to add a bit more broth before cooking in oven if you are doing it out of bird. Which is the way I preferred it. P.S. Use sweet onions for this dish. I actually didn't try the egg substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I reduced the whole wheat bread to 3 cups and added 3 cups of corn toasting bread. I also added chopped chestnuts, which I roasted (1 lb unshelled) before adding to the mixture. While everyone enjoyed the chestnuts and cornbread, there were complaints that the onions overpowered the dish. Next time, I'll only add one sweet onion and carmelize in butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedDragonfly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I have never made stuffing from scratch before in my life. This recipe was so easy and soooooo good. I'm not a stuffing eatter, but I got nothing but compliments and an empty dish by the time Thanksgiving dinner was over. I will definately be making my stuffing myself from now on. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was a very simple recipe to follow! I toasted bread before cutting, I used vegetable broth instead of Chicken, 2 onions, a pinch of cayenne, and real egg. Used it in a broccoli casserole dish and turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
So good. I made mine with apple cider instead of chicken broth, added raisins, cinnamon & nutmeg. It came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPYKE2831

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This recipe is so simple, and the possibilities are endless! I have yet to stuff it in my turkey, but had to try it now and leave a review. It's delicious! I increased the recipe for 16 servings. I used a loaf of jalapeno-cheddar bread and a little bit of challah bread instead of whole-grain. To the paprika, salt and pepper I added sage, parsley and rosemary. With the onions I also cooked mushrooms, green pepper, red pepper, yellow pepper, leeks and garlic. I only had a cup of broth, so for the remainder I combined chicken soup base and water as necessary. The end flavour is a wonderful seasoned vegetables stuffing, with a "kick" from the jalapenos. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
When I do dressing I make a 9x13 pan full of coucornbread No sugar add poultry seasoning, sage, celery, onion,etc. and cook it in the cornbread with jumbo eggs and milk. cook in 375 degree oven until done then I use 2 large packets seasoned dressing mix crumble the cornbread in with seasoned mix enough broth to make it juicy add salt and pepper. Bake until done. It won't take as long because veggies are cooked some. I also add 6 or 8 raw eggs into mixture this will give texture ane hold it together. I use diluted broth from turkey and add chicken broth as needed. I taste it to see what else it needs. I use the roate rpan I cook the bird in.cook till ia knifr inserted in crnter comed ouy clern. Abut 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States