Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
For a great southern taste - grate very cold butter into the dry mixture and gently blend together. (This keeps the flour light and makes biscuits stay flaky) No need to knead, just carefully press to about 3/4" and cut, simply add enough flour to remove stickiness and definitely use butter instead of shortening. I have never had such a good biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
527 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Shiloh, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
EXCELLENT recipe!First time I ever made biscuits that weren't as heavy as rocks. My husband grew up on home made biscuits and thought they were as good as any he had ever eaten. Made 2 batches, one with milk and one with buttermilk, both turned out pretty much the same, we just prefer them made with buttermilk. Also, I make 4 batches at a time as they freeze really well. Just be sure to roll them in flour and lay on a tray flat in the freezer. When they have frozen I put them in a zipperer bags and store in freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
287 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wander'sWorld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nicoma Park, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Locust Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
My mom has been trying for years to teach me to make biscuits, I can never remember the recipe. This was very similar to hers and worked great. Just be careful not to over mix your dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Had these biscuits tonight with friends. I made 2 batches and the first one didn't rise hardly at all and suspected my baking powder was the problem so I added an extra heaping teaspoon of fresh baking powder in the 2nd batch that I already had assembled and waiting for the milk. The 2nd batch rose a lot more than the first so I feel that the next time when I use the full tablespoon of fresh BP the biscuits will rise even better. I wonder if this could be the main problem with other reviewers that didn't have good lift in their biscuits. My BP was in what I thought was a very tightly closed container and didn't even think it wouldn't work. Live and learn! UPDATE 12/25. Made 3 double batches this morning. I made them per the recipe and found that 3/4" thick on the bread board made a nicer looking biscuit than patting out to 1/2". My dough was quite moist and used a spatula to get it on to the WELL floured board. Put a bit of flour on my hands and a bit on the top of the dough and just patted it out about half way to what I wanted and then flipped it over onto more flour and patted to thickness I liked. Used a 3 1/2" cutter and got about 11 nice biscuits. Don't twist the cutter when you press it down. I did once just to see if it did make a difference, and yes it did, it sealed the edge and didn't let the biscuit rise hardly at all. Also clean the cutter in between batches. The hardening dough will "crimp" the edge like twisting the cutter. All in all a great, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
biscuits turned out good. I adjusted the recipe a little. I used sourmilk, added 1 tbs sugar. Also I rolled dough to about 1in thick and let stand 10min then brushed with butter. This is the best recipe i have tried so far. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2001
Very good recipe. I kneaded the dough a little to make them more dense. Ummm Ummm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
These are the best! My 13 year old daughter made them and she had no problem.They weren't dry and tasted wonderful. Everyone complimented her on them. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Instead of the shortening,I use butter.Keep it frozen and then grate right into dry ingredients.Blend gently with your fingers.Saves so much time and work.Easy recipe,tender biscults that raise nice and taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Manton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Got a craving for biscuits 30 minutes ago. Found this recipe. Here I sit now, in pools of melty butter. YUM! I did use lard instead of shortening. Barely handled the dough at all. IMPORTANT FOR NEW BISCUIT BAKERS: when using a glass or cookie cutter DON'T TWIST IT for any reason. This in effect "seals" the edges of the dough and will prevent from baking up sky high and delectable. I did make mine huge - recipe yielded 5 - and I couldn't be happier. Best biscuits I have ever made. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
These turned out perfect and I am not a great cook! I kneeded them a bit too, about 8-10 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States