Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
It is very good. Though I would prefer to cook it for twelve minutes instead of ten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noah Fowlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Excellent recipe.... (people having trouble ???? _secret_ to good dough is don't over work it just like a good pie crust. and very cold ingredents is a plus..... lenihan5 great job thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Loved it just as it was, thank you for sharing it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timothy Z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I needed a recipe in a pinch and I found this one. It is quick, easy and tasty! Would recommend it to anyone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
First time I made these. Didn't have quite enough milk so I added buttermilk to make the 3/4 cup. They rose nicely and were airy for lack of a better word! I used butter instead of shortening as another reviewer suggested. I will never buy store bought again. Loved it! Thank you for such an easy and great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
This recipe fails to note the two most important things to remember when making biscuits: (1) ALWAYS use COLD butter/margarine/shortening; that makes for a flaky biscuit. And (2)NEVER NEVER NEVER twist the cutter when you're cutting out the biscuits. Twisting prevents them from rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Good basic recipe. I change out the milk for buttermilk and add 1-2 TBS sugar. Also change out the shortening for either lard or butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This recipe is the closest to my Mom's baking powder biscuits I have ever tried to make. I have never been able to get the dough to rise enough or be flaky enough like my Mom's until this recipe. The only change or addition I would like to add is that the biscuits should be placed so close together before baking that the dough is " kissing" the next biscuit. This helps to keep moistness in. Also, if you need to warm them up and want them to be like they had just come out of the oven: place the biscuits loosely in a paperbag, fold the top down and roll it up tightly. Run the water faucet briefly over the bag of biscuits . The outside should look wet, but not saturated. Heat bag of biscuits in the oven on 300 f for about 20 minutes but check the biscuit's warmth every 10-5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Turned out great. I made a smaller portion and still were wonderful. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
These were pretty good. I had to use butter to substitute the shortening the first time. I'm hoping they will be even better when I use the shortening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixoflife137

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States