Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Cheynne Cheynne Kelley
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
They came out great! Slight crunch and moist inside, I put cheese and garlic on half for my mother
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Sub butter for shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I have tried this recipe and they didn't turn out at all. The dough was extremely sticky and I had to keep adding flour in order to be able to get them off the floured surface and onto the baking sheet. The didn't rise hardly at all. I am going to try it again and try to figure out what I did wrong. I used butter instead of shortening but another review said butter was substituted for the shortening and they turned out great. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs B
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Perfect and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Never have made any other biscuit than this and is foolproof if you have good baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I tried this recipe because I didn't have any refrigerated biscuits and we really wanted biscuits and gravy for breakfast. I'm not sure what I did wrong but they were very, very bland and did not rise. My husband said that they looked more like sugar cookies. Next rime I may try with butter instead of shortening and add a little sugar like some of the other reviews had. They were easy to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather LeRae Edge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Easy and good! I'm not a baker. A little plain so next time I will experiment a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladstone, Illinois, USA
Living In: Doniphan, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I loved how these biscuits came out! I used to make biscuits and tried from what I remember in the past. I never could get them right! These came out so nice and flaky, just like I used to remember! Next time I will do what previous reviews stated and use cold butter and freeze them for future baking! Yumm! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Londaty
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This is my go-biscut recipe. I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
make these all the time and to change flavor or purpose for the biscuits...ie sweet roll or such or just plain,,.,.,do use buttermilk or sour milk knead just a few times....add 1 to 2 tblsp sugar and some raisins if wanting a sweet one but cheese and jalapeno pepper can be used for dinner buns so many uses and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States