Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Had these biscuits tonight with friends. I made 2 batches and the first one didn't rise hardly at all and suspected my baking powder was the problem so I added an extra heaping teaspoon of fresh baking powder in the 2nd batch that I already had assembled and waiting for the milk. The 2nd batch rose a lot more than the first so I feel that the next time when I use the full tablespoon of fresh BP the biscuits will rise even better. I wonder if this could be the main problem with other reviewers that didn't have good lift in their biscuits. My BP was in what I thought was a very tightly closed container and didn't even think it wouldn't work. Live and learn! UPDATE 12/25. Made 3 double batches this morning. I made them per the recipe and found that 3/4" thick on the bread board made a nicer looking biscuit than patting out to 1/2". My dough was quite moist and used a spatula to get it on to the WELL floured board. Put a bit of flour on my hands and a bit on the top of the dough and just patted it out about half way to what I wanted and then flipped it over onto more flour and patted to thickness I liked. Used a 3 1/2" cutter and got about 11 nice biscuits. Don't twist the cutter when you press it down. I did once just to see if it did make a difference, and yes it did, it sealed the edge and didn't let the biscuit rise hardly at all. Also clean the cutter in between batches. The hardening dough will "crimp" the edge like twisting the cutter. All in all a great, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
LOVE LOVE LOVE it!!! I tried with buttermilk (1cup milk+1tbls white vinegar) and accidentally tossed in the whole cup instead of 3/4 and still good! My second time making from scratch and must say less is more when it comes to handling. Lumpy n all start pressing softly soon as all is moistened. Def going into my recipe box =-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Easy to make it. I replaced shortening and milk for butter and buttermilk. Great tast for a easy and basic recipe.Ty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
These turned out good! I was pleased to get them right on the 1st attempt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Easy and delicious! I used buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hokker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Great recipe! I followed the advice of Julie W. and used butter rather than shortening. My 4 year old daughter helped and we had a lot of fun making this easy recipe. They turned out perfectly and my family really enjoyed them. I grew up on homemade biscuits and gravy and this one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
these where easy and really tasty i made them to top my chicken pot pie so good thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexii

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
These are simple and AWESOME! I would have included a picture but my family ate them all up, six of us. I made two batches. Mini's first and then the regular size biscuit, both turned out wonderful. The only thing I changed was that I used butter instead of the shortening. These rise up so nicely too. My standard recipe for biscuits now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
this recipe is great, but to make it AMAZING use cake flour (i use ww flour, so cake ww flour just makes them less dense- am sure white all purpose would work well too) and equal parts of butter (in place of shortening) and sour cream (in place of milk). it is an old betty crocker recipe, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prettyinink83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Great recipe, I was too lazy to go to the store just for biscuits. My 10 year old daughter loved helping, especially the butterfly shaped cookie cutter we used. I played with the dough a little much and rolled them a little thin, but everyone loved them anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bhuman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States