Basic Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
These were so yummy!! I substituted margarine in place of shortening. Maybe next time I'll try butter!! I brushed the tops with melted butter before putting them in the oven....they turned out moist and flaky! Kids loved them! Definitely will make again! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Nothing fancy but works well. Next time I plan on making a double batch and freezing some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
i made these for the first time today, they were amazing :-) so light and fluffy with a lovely taste. My daughter had them with homemade sausage gravy. my son liked them with maple syrup and my other son just ate them plain couldn't get enough of them.. thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This is a good basic biscuit recipe, and my husband loves it. I use canola oil, and it turns out well enough for me. Sometimes I use 1/2 whole wheat flour as well. If I want them a bit fluffier, I add more milk and less oil. Good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilentStarlight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
These were pretty good. There just seemed to be something missing. They rose nice can high. Oddly enough we liked them better once cold. I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Very easy to follow. As others mentioned do not overwork the dough so that the biscuits will rise. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Really delicious. I have made these several times and they come out slightly crispy on the outside, but are fluffy and dense on the inside. I also substituted some of the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I won't give this 5 stars because I did make a couple changes. First I used buttermilk. Second, because I was actually making garlic knots I added a little garlic. Then used the dough instead of store bought biscuit dough for garlic knots. With minimal kneading this dough bakes up as light as a feather and very subtly in flavor. Tomorrow morning I will be making biscuits and gravy with this recipe, still using buttermilk instead of butter and butter instead of shortening. I can't wait to taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States