Basic Beef Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Very good although I found it to be very mellow. It also didn't seem to make a whole lot, which isn't bad but for the time it takes to do it, I was hoping for a little more. I also found that you have to add a lot more water than specified and add water as you go along otherwise the bones/veggies will burn. Also, I was skimming the fat off as I went just so that I could ensure that it was clear and not cloudy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
i've made my own beef-bone stock for yrs, but never thought to roast the bones until i stumbled across this recipe. i used whatever was on sale: beef marrow bones, and beef spare ribs, didn't have any parsnips so i omitted them. Added a whole bulb of garlic along with the roasting part. The stock came out AMAZINGLY AWESOME. The roasting gave the stock a whole new dimension of flavors and gave the stock a beautiful caramel color that my previous bone-stock recipes lacked. The roasted garlic scent was very obvious, i thought it added depth to the stock, but it might be too overpowering for non-garlic lovers. But overall, it's a beautiful stock that's worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zaya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
wow, who would think that so much flavor could be rendered from bone? Thanks for the wonderful recipe. it was easy to follow and the results made my soups sing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Great Recipe... I Just bought regular beef bones from my local Meat Market and it worked out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike E

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I think this is the only way to make ALL soup stocks (turkey, ham and chicken). I usually use only the celery, carrots, peppercorns and a whole onion (with skin on, it adds color)and discard it all after simmering. Thanks for posting, your soups will never have more flavor. m
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I used whatever tired old veggies I had in the fridge, as well as whatever beef bones, old stewing beef, etc I had in the freezer. I made a huge pot to freeze in tubs for other recipes. After letting it cool and sit in the fridge for the night, I skimmed off the fat, discarded the veggies and bones and I shredded all the meat that was left to make chili in the slow cooker today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Marvelous! Such a wonderful, easy thing to make. I left out the parsnips, because I never buy such things, as well as the tomato and garlic (because my son is allergic, sigh). I also, on the recommendation of my butcher, tossed in a couple of nice short ribs to add extra flavor, and I added about a teaspoon of paprika to give some of the punch that garlic would have given it. I used potato peelings instead of the potato flesh and roasted the bones/ribs/carrots/onions for a little over an hour at 400 degrees. I also let it simmer for a good bit longer than 5 hours to let it reduce. A wonderful result, and the house smelled amazing all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Used rutabaga instead of parsnip. Dried parsley instead of fresh. 1 pack beef short ribs instead of bones. Added shredded meat back in at end. Used to make clear broth soup for sick family. Discarded celery/potatoes/rutabaga. Saved carrots. Added brown rice at end. jason loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
First time making beef stock and this worked GREAT. I had 3 pounds of soup bones so adjusted accordingly. After chilling overnight to solidify the fat, I had beautiful jellied stock. I took 4 cups of stock and added 4 cups of water and made a vegetable beef soup that was FANTASTIC, rich and velvety broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Good decent basic beef stock. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States