Basic Beef Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This is a perfect beef stock recipe !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Need a really good beef stock recipe. Today at the store I started reading labels on all the liquid and other kinds of stock and broth, they all contain among other things, lots of sugar, if not the first ingredient it is in the top. I don't like my beef or chicken dishes sweet unless I want them to be. Could not find a single one without some form of sugar or sweetener. I found it incredible. How do diabetics manage to avoid sugar when it is in so many products? Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bswholey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I used approximately 10 lbs worth of beef bones and fat- roasted at 300 for 3 hrs, then added vegetable scraps that I had frozen- celery, onions skins and ends, carrot ends, green pepper bits, cucumber ends and any vegetable past its prime from the fridge....added 1 head garlic, roasted another hour at 350, then put in 12 qt stockpot, added water, salt. pepper, parsley, and 3 bay leaves. Brought to alomost a boil, then turned to low and simmered for 6-8 hours. Then pressure canned in quarts at 10 pounds pressure for 40 minutes. Wonderful!Approx. 7 qts of beef stock to can......perfect for any recipe needing beef stock or beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
The flavor was OK. I used neck bones which have some meat. Followed the recipe as written. Smelled great while cooking. Looked great while cooking. I skimmed fat after a night in the fridge and what remains looks more like beef stock jello than something you'd use as soup. I haven't tried warming it back up yet, but I'm unsettled by what it looks like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
after roasting the veggies and bones I put everything into the slow cooker. I adjusted the water to 8 cups, knowing that I could dilute the stock later if need be. cooked it on high for about 5 hours and went about my daily activities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I learned this one from my Mother over 60 years ago. The only thing I have changed is the way to deglaze the roaster. I use a big splash, (1/2 to 3/4 cup) of Sweet Vermouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I've never made beef stock or broth before and have the extra challenge of being on a highly restricted diet designed to reduce inflammation. I altered this recipe quite a bit, but am thrilled with the results. I roasted beef shanks, Vidalia onions, and garlic together, sprinkling on some sea salt. Everything then went into the stock pot, with the deglazed bits from the roasting pan and water to cover, plus an inch. I added more sea salt, too. After about 8 hours, I had a rich, fragrant, tasty broth. Strained, it will be perfect for my cooking needs. And no yeast or anything else I need to avoid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Beth Brooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Well, I got the stock made, and it tastes really good, but it sure doesn't look like the picture posted. Mine is fairly pale looking. I followed the recipe to a "t" but increased the roasting time to 45 min. Also, even after all the straining and clarifing, mine had gross-looking stuff in it. I was praying it wasn't the egg, although I didn't see how it could get through all that cheesecloth. When I heated it again and stirred it, it disappeared. I regfigerated it overnight so I could take off all the fat, and yet it still seems fatty. I'm not sure why you would want to discard the meat. I grew up poor and hungry, so I very rarely throw food away. I diced it up to yield four cups. One cup is now simmering in Beef and Barely Soup III from this site (best B and B soup EVER!). I froze 2-1/2 C. for beef hash, which I serve with eggs, homemade biscuits and salsa. Finally, I froze 2 small packs for quesadillas, made with beef, sauteed peppers, onions, and cheddar cheese with salsa, guacamole, and sour cream on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This is excellent and well worth the effort to make it. (Note to self: I had to use the big stock pot and not the dutch oven.) Followed the recipe exactly but didn't clarify it at the end due to my family's preferences. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States