Basic Beef Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
This is definitely the way to make a good beef stock. The only change I made was to roast the bones for a lot longer at a lower temp. I actually roasted for about five hours in order to bring out the flavors. (Just a tip: every time I cut an onion, peel potatoes, carrots or chop celery, I save all the peels, put them in a zip lok bag and throw it in the freezer. In a few months I have a good start on my stock) The vegie and seasoning combos were perfect which created a wonderful stock. I used this recipe to make french onion soup. My hubby Drew and the kids order french onion almost every time we go out for dinner as their appetizer. I never do because of the high salt content, so I was very pleased to be able to make a wonderful stock and at the same time control the amount of sodium. My kiddies say "thanks Wolverine"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
i've made my own beef-bone stock for yrs, but never thought to roast the bones until i stumbled across this recipe. i used whatever was on sale: beef marrow bones, and beef spare ribs, didn't have any parsnips so i omitted them. Added a whole bulb of garlic along with the roasting part. The stock came out AMAZINGLY AWESOME. The roasting gave the stock a whole new dimension of flavors and gave the stock a beautiful caramel color that my previous bone-stock recipes lacked. The roasted garlic scent was very obvious, i thought it added depth to the stock, but it might be too overpowering for non-garlic lovers. But overall, it's a beautiful stock that's worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zaya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
At last: a recipe contributor who knows the difference between beef stock and beef broth. Broth is made by simmering bones and beef pieces. Stock is made by roasting the bones first. They are two totally different foods. This one is excellent. Great for all kinds of recipes, but it makes an especially good French onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Very good tasting beef stock. It is very time consuming and lots of work, but definitly worth it in the end. I will be using this stock to make onion soup. Since it is a complicated recipe I doubled it so that I can freeze some for later use. I used 6 lbs of beef ribs and doubled the rest of the ingredients. The ribs have more meat than soup bones so it still had a wonderfully rich flavor. The only small change I did was use beef bouillon instead of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This is, by far, the best beef stock I have ever made. It was simple to make, and I particularly like the long cooking time. I think a long cooking time makes the stock heartier. The only ingredient I couldn't get was the parsnip; so I would continue to make the stock without it. It is perfect exactly as I made it. I didn't even have to add extra salt or other seasonings. Thanks for this gem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I used whatever tired old veggies I had in the fridge, as well as whatever beef bones, old stewing beef, etc I had in the freezer. I made a huge pot to freeze in tubs for other recipes. After letting it cool and sit in the fridge for the night, I skimmed off the fat, discarded the veggies and bones and I shredded all the meat that was left to make chili in the slow cooker today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2000
Made this recipe using my Nesco roaster and am very happy with the result. This is a very easy recipe and smells delicious while simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Marvelous! Such a wonderful, easy thing to make. I left out the parsnips, because I never buy such things, as well as the tomato and garlic (because my son is allergic, sigh). I also, on the recommendation of my butcher, tossed in a couple of nice short ribs to add extra flavor, and I added about a teaspoon of paprika to give some of the punch that garlic would have given it. I used potato peelings instead of the potato flesh and roasted the bones/ribs/carrots/onions for a little over an hour at 400 degrees. I also let it simmer for a good bit longer than 5 hours to let it reduce. A wonderful result, and the house smelled amazing all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Amazing! My first attemp at homemade stock. This recipe wasn't complicated at all and great for a day cleaning around the house. I used beef ribs baked for an hour then basted them with tomato paste, added veggies and roasted an addl 30 minutes. DH was totally blown away. You cannot get this from a can. Thanks Wolverine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I peddle blooms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Used rutabaga instead of parsnip. Dried parsley instead of fresh. 1 pack beef short ribs instead of bones. Added shredded meat back in at end. Used to make clear broth soup for sick family. Discarded celery/potatoes/rutabaga. Saved carrots. Added brown rice at end. jason loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States