Basic Beef Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2000
Made this recipe using my Nesco roaster and am very happy with the result. This is a very easy recipe and smells delicious while simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
This is definitely the way to make a good beef stock. The only change I made was to roast the bones for a lot longer at a lower temp. I actually roasted for about five hours in order to bring out the flavors. (Just a tip: every time I cut an onion, peel potatoes, carrots or chop celery, I save all the peels, put them in a zip lok bag and throw it in the freezer. In a few months I have a good start on my stock) The vegie and seasoning combos were perfect which created a wonderful stock. I used this recipe to make french onion soup. My hubby Drew and the kids order french onion almost every time we go out for dinner as their appetizer. I never do because of the high salt content, so I was very pleased to be able to make a wonderful stock and at the same time control the amount of sodium. My kiddies say "thanks Wolverine"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Very good tasting beef stock. It is very time consuming and lots of work, but definitly worth it in the end. I will be using this stock to make onion soup. Since it is a complicated recipe I doubled it so that I can freeze some for later use. I used 6 lbs of beef ribs and doubled the rest of the ingredients. The ribs have more meat than soup bones so it still had a wonderfully rich flavor. The only small change I did was use beef bouillon instead of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This is, by far, the best beef stock I have ever made. It was simple to make, and I particularly like the long cooking time. I think a long cooking time makes the stock heartier. The only ingredient I couldn't get was the parsnip; so I would continue to make the stock without it. It is perfect exactly as I made it. I didn't even have to add extra salt or other seasonings. Thanks for this gem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Amazing! My first attemp at homemade stock. This recipe wasn't complicated at all and great for a day cleaning around the house. I used beef ribs baked for an hour then basted them with tomato paste, added veggies and roasted an addl 30 minutes. DH was totally blown away. You cannot get this from a can. Thanks Wolverine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I peddle blooms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Good decent basic beef stock. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
First time making beef stock and this worked GREAT. I had 3 pounds of soup bones so adjusted accordingly. After chilling overnight to solidify the fat, I had beautiful jellied stock. I took 4 cups of stock and added 4 cups of water and made a vegetable beef soup that was FANTASTIC, rich and velvety broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Used rutabaga instead of parsnip. Dried parsley instead of fresh. 1 pack beef short ribs instead of bones. Added shredded meat back in at end. Used to make clear broth soup for sick family. Discarded celery/potatoes/rutabaga. Saved carrots. Added brown rice at end. jason loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Marvelous! Such a wonderful, easy thing to make. I left out the parsnips, because I never buy such things, as well as the tomato and garlic (because my son is allergic, sigh). I also, on the recommendation of my butcher, tossed in a couple of nice short ribs to add extra flavor, and I added about a teaspoon of paprika to give some of the punch that garlic would have given it. I used potato peelings instead of the potato flesh and roasted the bones/ribs/carrots/onions for a little over an hour at 400 degrees. I also let it simmer for a good bit longer than 5 hours to let it reduce. A wonderful result, and the house smelled amazing all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I used whatever tired old veggies I had in the fridge, as well as whatever beef bones, old stewing beef, etc I had in the freezer. I made a huge pot to freeze in tubs for other recipes. After letting it cool and sit in the fridge for the night, I skimmed off the fat, discarded the veggies and bones and I shredded all the meat that was left to make chili in the slow cooker today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States