Basic Beef Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Simple and tasty!! Makes great stock for veggie soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I followed several other suggestions, roasted the bones for 5 hours turning every 30 minutes, then for the last 1-2 hours added vegies. put all in the crockpot for 24 hours along with fresh parsley, thyme and onions from the garden. also added to the crockpot cheese rinds, which add fabulous flavor to any stock, as well as peppercorns, garlic, and fennel seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Very rich, flavorful stock. I made a double batch and used some to make chicken and rice b/c I was out of onion soup mix and the rice tasted so much better with the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Absolutely the ONLY way to make stock. I made a huge batch and froze some for future use. It is perfect for those who have allergies to soy and other ingredients found in premake broth and much tastier. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I must have done something wrong. I baked the bones for a solid hour, did everything the recipe said, and honestly this didn't taste very beefy at all! It tasted more like vegetable stock than beef stock. I used normal marrow/soup bones, had nice fresh vegetables, everything seemed okay. I'm not sure what I did wrong, but this recipe wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Made it as read except I roasted the bones for an hour before preparing the stock and added extra potato instead of parsnip. There was a ton of fat that congealed on the top when I let it cool, which I skimmed off. So don't leave out that step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I roasted the bones with tomato paste on them for one hour, then added to a pan with onion, leek, celery and carrot - brought to a boil then put in my crock pot hoping that it would still turn out. Needed to use a little more soup bones as it tasted more like vegetable broth when it got done, but it worked great for a soup the next day with leftover roast pieces, celery and angel hair pasta. It is very time consuming but it is worth it. Mine seemed fine using the crock as oposed to a stock pan all day (didn't want to babysit the stove)I let it sit in the fridge overnight and the fat was easy to skim off the top. Thank you for the help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angellina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dowagiac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
At last: a recipe contributor who knows the difference between beef stock and beef broth. Broth is made by simmering bones and beef pieces. Stock is made by roasting the bones first. They are two totally different foods. This one is excellent. Great for all kinds of recipes, but it makes an especially good French onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
fantasic flavours hands down beats store bought broth. browned bones as recomended at a lower temperature for about 4 hours then threw it all into a slow cooker for about 24 hours. strained everything out and let sit in the fridge over night so I could remove the fat. used it for french onion soup for a party and was told it was the best anyone had ever had :) will definitly make as often as possible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Yummy! However I realized that I didn't really want a soup-curry. I wanted regular thick curry so I added 4 heaping tablespoons of flour. I also added 3 carrots (peeled/sliced) and bell peppers. I followed someone's idea of only 4 cups of broth and 2 heaping tablespoons of curry powder. DELICIOUS! At first it is not as spicy, but have some milk by because as with other curry, your mouth begins to flame up after a few bites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States