Basic Beef Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
A lot of work! It did make the house smell really good BUT my husband was surprised that we were having pizza instead of homemade beef stew for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Amazing stock. Roasting everything in the oven gives it a fantastic, rich flavor. I will never used store-bought stock again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malevolentmuse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jade
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Delicious! My first time making any sort of stock, and it turned out wonderfully tasty and sweet. Thanks for some great tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This turned out wonderful! The only change I did was roast the bones at 300* for about four hours (until the bones were brown), turning the bones over about every half an hour. Oh, and I got a little confused with the directions with the celery and ended up adding them to the roasting pan, and I don't regret it! I will be making this again, probably this week! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This turned out really well. I couldn't add the tomato (my daughter is allergic) and I didn't have any parsnips or fresh parsley and couldn't go out to get them during a blizzard. I also added in some tough stir fry beef during the simmering stage and it cooked beautifully so we had some yummy meat to add back into the soup we made the next day. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Such a delicious and hearty stock! I actually improved upon an old family recipe for beef vegetable soup, which has corn, cabbage, peas, green beans and tomatoes in it. I added those plus the celery and carrots, and I also added about a pound of stew meat (browned first) for the last 2 hours of simmering, just to beef it up a little - so to speak. Absolutely great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Simple and tasty!! Makes great stock for veggie soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I followed several other suggestions, roasted the bones for 5 hours turning every 30 minutes, then for the last 1-2 hours added vegies. put all in the crockpot for 24 hours along with fresh parsley, thyme and onions from the garden. also added to the crockpot cheese rinds, which add fabulous flavor to any stock, as well as peppercorns, garlic, and fennel seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Very rich, flavorful stock. I made a double batch and used some to make chicken and rice b/c I was out of onion soup mix and the rice tasted so much better with the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States