Basic Beef Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This turned out wonderful! The only change I did was roast the bones at 300* for about four hours (until the bones were brown), turning the bones over about every half an hour. Oh, and I got a little confused with the directions with the celery and ended up adding them to the roasting pan, and I don't regret it! I will be making this again, probably this week! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This turned out really well. I couldn't add the tomato (my daughter is allergic) and I didn't have any parsnips or fresh parsley and couldn't go out to get them during a blizzard. I also added in some tough stir fry beef during the simmering stage and it cooked beautifully so we had some yummy meat to add back into the soup we made the next day. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Such a delicious and hearty stock! I actually improved upon an old family recipe for beef vegetable soup, which has corn, cabbage, peas, green beans and tomatoes in it. I added those plus the celery and carrots, and I also added about a pound of stew meat (browned first) for the last 2 hours of simmering, just to beef it up a little - so to speak. Absolutely great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Simple and tasty!! Makes great stock for veggie soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I followed several other suggestions, roasted the bones for 5 hours turning every 30 minutes, then for the last 1-2 hours added vegies. put all in the crockpot for 24 hours along with fresh parsley, thyme and onions from the garden. also added to the crockpot cheese rinds, which add fabulous flavor to any stock, as well as peppercorns, garlic, and fennel seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Very rich, flavorful stock. I made a double batch and used some to make chicken and rice b/c I was out of onion soup mix and the rice tasted so much better with the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Absolutely the ONLY way to make stock. I made a huge batch and froze some for future use. It is perfect for those who have allergies to soy and other ingredients found in premake broth and much tastier. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I must have done something wrong. I baked the bones for a solid hour, did everything the recipe said, and honestly this didn't taste very beefy at all! It tasted more like vegetable stock than beef stock. I used normal marrow/soup bones, had nice fresh vegetables, everything seemed okay. I'm not sure what I did wrong, but this recipe wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Made it as read except I roasted the bones for an hour before preparing the stock and added extra potato instead of parsnip. There was a ton of fat that congealed on the top when I let it cool, which I skimmed off. So don't leave out that step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I roasted the bones with tomato paste on them for one hour, then added to a pan with onion, leek, celery and carrot - brought to a boil then put in my crock pot hoping that it would still turn out. Needed to use a little more soup bones as it tasted more like vegetable broth when it got done, but it worked great for a soup the next day with leftover roast pieces, celery and angel hair pasta. It is very time consuming but it is worth it. Mine seemed fine using the crock as oposed to a stock pan all day (didn't want to babysit the stove)I let it sit in the fridge overnight and the fat was easy to skim off the top. Thank you for the help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angellina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dowagiac, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States