Basic Beef Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I also did like Linda Mclean (and others) roasting at 300 or 4 hours turning occasionally. During last hour I tossed in a small head of garlic as well. I didn't have parsnip and didn't use the potato. Used dried parsley as its all I had. I did have fresh rosemary which I added 2 large sprigs of. (I'm a rosemary fan). I didn't drain off the fat because after 1st straining I chill stock in frige, then remove solidified fat on top. I keep and freeze the fat to use in making refried beans, savory pie doughs, homemade noodles, etc., vs commercial lard which has hydrogenated fats, yuk & I hate to waste anything that can b repurposed. As for the rest of directions, spot on. I dig making my own stocks which I freeze in portions for many applications. I use beef neck bones (very meaty) I get for $1.49 lb. The soup bones I see are just that - nothing but bones. I tried those before and didn't get great results. Oxtail would work too but it costs more. Thanks for the post for honest to goodness 'stock'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I am having trouble finding beef bones to use for this recipe. I have made stock before at restaurants I have worked at, but I am not sure what beef bones to get at the grocery store. Any help would be aprreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETTYCROCKER92
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
A lot of work! It did make the house smell really good BUT my husband was surprised that we were having pizza instead of homemade beef stew for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Amazing stock. Roasting everything in the oven gives it a fantastic, rich flavor. I will never used store-bought stock again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malevolentmuse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jade Kurei
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Delicious! My first time making any sort of stock, and it turned out wonderfully tasty and sweet. Thanks for some great tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade Kurei

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This turned out wonderful! The only change I did was roast the bones at 300* for about four hours (until the bones were brown), turning the bones over about every half an hour. Oh, and I got a little confused with the directions with the celery and ended up adding them to the roasting pan, and I don't regret it! I will be making this again, probably this week! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This turned out really well. I couldn't add the tomato (my daughter is allergic) and I didn't have any parsnips or fresh parsley and couldn't go out to get them during a blizzard. I also added in some tough stir fry beef during the simmering stage and it cooked beautifully so we had some yummy meat to add back into the soup we made the next day. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Such a delicious and hearty stock! I actually improved upon an old family recipe for beef vegetable soup, which has corn, cabbage, peas, green beans and tomatoes in it. I added those plus the celery and carrots, and I also added about a pound of stew meat (browned first) for the last 2 hours of simmering, just to beef it up a little - so to speak. Absolutely great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Simple and tasty!! Makes great stock for veggie soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States