Basic Beef Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This is excellent and well worth the effort to make it. (Note to self: I had to use the big stock pot and not the dutch oven.) Followed the recipe exactly but didn't clarify it at the end due to my family's preferences. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I made this stock yesterday and was expecting to get a rich beefy result.I chose this recipe due to it's high rating, however, I neglected to read through all the reviews first. I am so sorry I didn't. What I ended up with was a flat vegetable broth. I followed the recipe to the letter, even buying the bones (plus an extra meaty shank) from a local butcher shop (and paid dearly for them). I went to the grocery store today and bought another 5 pounds of soup bones. After roasting, they are now in the pot along with my "vegetable broth" from last night. I will probably try this again, but will be sure to follow the advice of many reviewers;roasting the bones at a lower temp for several hours and will also try using the neck bones as well. It could be that what we know as soup bones no longer hold the flavor they once did. I don't know if the way the animals are raised today has anything to do with it. I know it can change the taste of meat, flavor of milk, etc. I hope that my final result will yield a strong enough beef flavor. If not, this will be one very expensive vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kutztown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by judy2304
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I followed this recipe pretty much as written except that I omitted the parsnips because I didn't have them on hand, used dried parsley, and baked the bones at a lower temperature for longer as suggested by others. I used free range bones so there really wasn't much fat to skim. The broth was very dark with excellent flavor. After straining it, there was no need to clarify it. It was perfect. Some of it was used for a beef vegetable soup (found on this site) and the rest was frozen into ice cubes for use in flavoring rice and other dishes. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy2304

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Great recipe! Thanks for the tip to clarify the stock. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Pogemiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pontiac, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
A keeper. I picked up beef shank bones and beef neck bones from my local butcher (very inexpensive). The neckbones had meat on them whereas the shanks were mostly just bone. Roasting at a lower temp for several hours is just what I did. Not wanting the onion and carrots to blacken, i removed those after the first hour of roasting and saved in the fridge until time to simmer. I shopped specifically for preparing this recipe, and glad I planned ahead. The end result was magnificant.. a well-rounded robust stock with the perfect flavor. This recipe yielded the full 8 cups (2 quarts). Next time I will double this recipe (using a 12quart stock pot) to yield a gallon. Gotta make sure you leave it covered while it simmers, otherwise all your good stock will evaporate. [To those who low-rate this and other recipes after having altered the recipe, remove your rating as it isn't fair to the submitter].
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WIFEMOMCOOKMAID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This is a great recipe to keep in your back pocket. I did leave out the tomato (the tomatoes we can get in PA in January aren't great) and parsnip (used more potato instead). I saved the meat (which literally fell off the bones) to use for another meal rather than discarding it. I got 3 quarts of stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Great recipe. Made beef barley soup from this stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I followed the recipe to a T, and it came out very bland. I used fresh marrow bones, veggies and fresh herbs. I roasted the bones and vegetables and slowly simmered the whole thing on the stove top. After 4 hours, it produced 4 cups of stock. Adding more water would only make it blander. It smelled great and I was really looking foward to using this, but it wasn't worth sitting around the house all day to make such a small quanity. I make great chicken stock all the time, so this isn't a new concept for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I also did like Linda Mclean (and others) roasting at 300 or 4 hours turning occasionally. During last hour I tossed in a small head of garlic as well. I didn't have parsnip and didn't use the potato. Used dried parsley as its all I had. I did have fresh rosemary which I added 2 large sprigs of. (I'm a rosemary fan). I didn't drain off the fat because after 1st straining I chill stock in frige, then remove solidified fat on top. I keep and freeze the fat to use in making refried beans, savory pie doughs, homemade noodles, etc., vs commercial lard which has hydrogenated fats, yuk & I hate to waste anything that can b repurposed. As for the rest of directions, spot on. I dig making my own stocks which I freeze in portions for many applications. I use beef neck bones (very meaty) I get for $1.49 lb. The soup bones I see are just that - nothing but bones. I tried those before and didn't get great results. Oxtail would work too but it costs more. Thanks for the post for honest to goodness 'stock'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States