Basic Beef Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I've never made beef stock or broth before and have the extra challenge of being on a highly restricted diet designed to reduce inflammation. I altered this recipe quite a bit, but am thrilled with the results. I roasted beef shanks, Vidalia onions, and garlic together, sprinkling on some sea salt. Everything then went into the stock pot, with the deglazed bits from the roasting pan and water to cover, plus an inch. I added more sea salt, too. After about 8 hours, I had a rich, fragrant, tasty broth. Strained, it will be perfect for my cooking needs. And no yeast or anything else I need to avoid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Beth Brooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Well, I got the stock made, and it tastes really good, but it sure doesn't look like the picture posted. Mine is fairly pale looking. I followed the recipe to a "t" but increased the roasting time to 45 min. Also, even after all the straining and clarifing, mine had gross-looking stuff in it. I was praying it wasn't the egg, although I didn't see how it could get through all that cheesecloth. When I heated it again and stirred it, it disappeared. I regfigerated it overnight so I could take off all the fat, and yet it still seems fatty. I'm not sure why you would want to discard the meat. I grew up poor and hungry, so I very rarely throw food away. I diced it up to yield four cups. One cup is now simmering in Beef and Barely Soup III from this site (best B and B soup EVER!). I froze 2-1/2 C. for beef hash, which I serve with eggs, homemade biscuits and salsa. Finally, I froze 2 small packs for quesadillas, made with beef, sauteed peppers, onions, and cheddar cheese with salsa, guacamole, and sour cream on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This is excellent and well worth the effort to make it. (Note to self: I had to use the big stock pot and not the dutch oven.) Followed the recipe exactly but didn't clarify it at the end due to my family's preferences. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I made this stock yesterday and was expecting to get a rich beefy result.I chose this recipe due to it's high rating, however, I neglected to read through all the reviews first. I am so sorry I didn't. What I ended up with was a flat vegetable broth. I followed the recipe to the letter, even buying the bones (plus an extra meaty shank) from a local butcher shop (and paid dearly for them). I went to the grocery store today and bought another 5 pounds of soup bones. After roasting, they are now in the pot along with my "vegetable broth" from last night. I will probably try this again, but will be sure to follow the advice of many reviewers;roasting the bones at a lower temp for several hours and will also try using the neck bones as well. It could be that what we know as soup bones no longer hold the flavor they once did. I don't know if the way the animals are raised today has anything to do with it. I know it can change the taste of meat, flavor of milk, etc. I hope that my final result will yield a strong enough beef flavor. If not, this will be one very expensive vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kutztown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by judy2304
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I followed this recipe pretty much as written except that I omitted the parsnips because I didn't have them on hand, used dried parsley, and baked the bones at a lower temperature for longer as suggested by others. I used free range bones so there really wasn't much fat to skim. The broth was very dark with excellent flavor. After straining it, there was no need to clarify it. It was perfect. Some of it was used for a beef vegetable soup (found on this site) and the rest was frozen into ice cubes for use in flavoring rice and other dishes. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy2304

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Great recipe! Thanks for the tip to clarify the stock. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Pogemiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pontiac, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
A keeper. I picked up beef shank bones and beef neck bones from my local butcher (very inexpensive). The neckbones had meat on them whereas the shanks were mostly just bone. Roasting at a lower temp for several hours is just what I did. Not wanting the onion and carrots to blacken, i removed those after the first hour of roasting and saved in the fridge until time to simmer. I shopped specifically for preparing this recipe, and glad I planned ahead. The end result was magnificant.. a well-rounded robust stock with the perfect flavor. This recipe yielded the full 8 cups (2 quarts). Next time I will double this recipe (using a 12quart stock pot) to yield a gallon. Gotta make sure you leave it covered while it simmers, otherwise all your good stock will evaporate. [To those who low-rate this and other recipes after having altered the recipe, remove your rating as it isn't fair to the submitter].
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WIFEMOMCOOKMAID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This is a great recipe to keep in your back pocket. I did leave out the tomato (the tomatoes we can get in PA in January aren't great) and parsnip (used more potato instead). I saved the meat (which literally fell off the bones) to use for another meal rather than discarding it. I got 3 quarts of stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Great recipe. Made beef barley soup from this stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States