Basic Bechamel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
OMG!! The salt level was through the roof! Other than that it is a great quick Bechamel Sauce. I only looked up the recipe bc it has been so long since I made it and I thought the recipe I remembered had to much sauce, so I tried this one. Could be my taste buds, but Wow so salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Quick and easy! I followed directions as is and added salt to taste based on the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This sauce is truly AMAZING! So simple to make with such a wonderful result!Mine thickened up beautifully! this is a great base recipe! I added some parmesan cheese,I finely grated some onion and fresh garlic and I had a small amout of cream cheese leftover so I through that in! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by handismith
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Great if you're patient. But I used only 1/4 tsp of salt and I would reduce that too. Pros manly just a big pinch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Does this only work with whole milk? I used reduced fat milk and whipped butter and made 1/2 recipe. It never really thickened up. What made matters worse is it tasted like a mouth full of salt. I can't believe I actually put the full tsp of salt in this. Strange, as I was making this to doctor up potatoes that didn't turn out. Guess, I need to stay out of the kitchen today. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This was what I used tonight to prepare lasagna. The bechamel turned out absolutely lovely,smooth,thick and creamy. Because bechamel is a delicately flavored sauce I needed to heighten the flavor for use in such a robust dish as a lasagna. Another reviewer JodieNMain advised sauteeing a pureed sweet onion down and adding a generous 1/4 tsp nutmeg before adding the flour so that's what I did and the result was delightsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
A little basic but a good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harold Payne Sr.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I used this basic sauce and turned it into an alfredo cheese sauce without any heavy cream or sour cream. This recipe provided the building blocks so I could make what I did, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This is a good basic recipe. Take your time making it. Rushing it ruins it. So does the salt!!! I followed the recipe exactly and what a mistake!!! Do NOT...do NOT....use 2 teaspoons of salt!! One is plenty. Also, if you aren't too fond of nutmeg, add maybe 1/8tsp. The 1/4 was fine for me. Used this to put over shrimp and crab omelet for a special brunch. Just tell everyone not to salt anything if you are going to use the sauce. ( after finishing it, I added some swiss cheese and a pinch of dill to complement my seafood omelete. it was pretty good). Would definitely use this same recipe again.....minus all the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I used this as a base recipe to make Macaroni Gratine. I added the spices necessary to make the complete dish and it turned out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States