Basic Bechamel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This was what I used tonight to prepare lasagna. The bechamel turned out absolutely lovely,smooth,thick and creamy. Because bechamel is a delicately flavored sauce I needed to heighten the flavor for use in such a robust dish as a lasagna. Another reviewer JodieNMain advised sauteeing a pureed sweet onion down and adding a generous 1/4 tsp nutmeg before adding the flour so that's what I did and the result was delightsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
A little basic but a good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFPAYNE1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I used this basic sauce and turned it into an alfredo cheese sauce without any heavy cream or sour cream. This recipe provided the building blocks so I could make what I did, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This is a good basic recipe. Take your time making it. Rushing it ruins it. So does the salt!!! I followed the recipe exactly and what a mistake!!! Do NOT...do NOT....use 2 teaspoons of salt!! One is plenty. Also, if you aren't too fond of nutmeg, add maybe 1/8tsp. The 1/4 was fine for me. Used this to put over shrimp and crab omelet for a special brunch. Just tell everyone not to salt anything if you are going to use the sauce. ( after finishing it, I added some swiss cheese and a pinch of dill to complement my seafood omelete. it was pretty good). Would definitely use this same recipe again.....minus all the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I used this as a base recipe to make Macaroni Gratine. I added the spices necessary to make the complete dish and it turned out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I made this recipe to use in 'Creamy Potato Lasagna' from AR, rather than using jarred Alfredo sauce. It worked great, and I would do so again. Patience is the key to this recipe, cook it too fast or too high of temperature and you will have a scorched pan. You can add cheese to the finished sauce and get a nice cheesy sauce for veggies or to use in another recipe. This is a great recipe to have in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Simple and fabulous for many, many recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Excellent instruction for those new to this kind of home made sauce base and the taste of this recipe is very good while also easy to spice in different ways. However, still like our family recipe a bit better. I puree a sweet onion until it's literally pulped, then saute the onion in a bit of butter and olive oil or coconut oil (the oil keeps the butter from burning). After the onion has cooked down and out for a good five minutes or so, we add the nutmeg. We put nutmeg is almost everything and the 1/4 tsp called for here is a good amount. Also helps the "onion" flavor to mellow for those who aren't fond of onion (like my boyfriend before I started cooking for him; I began pureeing the onion simply because he does not like the texture of onion and thought he didn't like the taste - now he knows better). After the onion is pureed we add the amount of butter called for in this recipe, or thereabouts, and begin incorporating the flour straight into the onion, all the while mixing and mashing like it up together. The flour and onion mixture will begin to smell a bit nutty and turn slightly golden - this is what ya want. Then whisk in your milk or cream and there ya have it. Excellent rendition of this simple bechamel sauce with a bit more panache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
The reviewer who lowered the amount of milk to a cup for serving 2 people needs to lower other ingredients as well. If you start with equal amounts of flour and butter, you will be fine, increasing it or decreasing it, then just add milk as it cooks to the consistancy you want. This is a basic quart recipe----and works well for MANY things!! I like to add cheeses---parmesan and use it in lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
For those that found it to be too much salt..the type of salt used can make a difference. Not sure what kind the recipe intended, but if using regular table salt, it takes much less than if using kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States