Basic Bechamel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
It's easy and delicious. I managed to sub the butter with coconut oil and the all-purpose flour for whole wheat flour. Still tastes just as good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
OMG!! The salt level was through the roof! Other than that it is a great quick Bechamel Sauce. I only looked up the recipe bc it has been so long since I made it and I thought the recipe I remembered had to much sauce, so I tried this one. Could be my taste buds, but Wow so salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Quick and easy! I followed directions as is and added salt to taste based on the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This sauce is truly AMAZING! So simple to make with such a wonderful result!Mine thickened up beautifully! this is a great base recipe! I added some parmesan cheese,I finely grated some onion and fresh garlic and I had a small amout of cream cheese leftover so I through that in! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by handismith
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Great if you're patient. But I used only 1/4 tsp of salt and I would reduce that too. Pros manly just a big pinch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Does this only work with whole milk? I used reduced fat milk and whipped butter and made 1/2 recipe. It never really thickened up. What made matters worse is it tasted like a mouth full of salt. I can't believe I actually put the full tsp of salt in this. Strange, as I was making this to doctor up potatoes that didn't turn out. Guess, I need to stay out of the kitchen today. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This was what I used tonight to prepare lasagna. The bechamel turned out absolutely lovely,smooth,thick and creamy. Because bechamel is a delicately flavored sauce I needed to heighten the flavor for use in such a robust dish as a lasagna. Another reviewer JodieNMain advised sauteeing a pureed sweet onion down and adding a generous 1/4 tsp nutmeg before adding the flour so that's what I did and the result was delightsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
A little basic but a good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harold Payne Sr.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I used this basic sauce and turned it into an alfredo cheese sauce without any heavy cream or sour cream. This recipe provided the building blocks so I could make what I did, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This is a good basic recipe. Take your time making it. Rushing it ruins it. So does the salt!!! I followed the recipe exactly and what a mistake!!! Do NOT...do NOT....use 2 teaspoons of salt!! One is plenty. Also, if you aren't too fond of nutmeg, add maybe 1/8tsp. The 1/4 was fine for me. Used this to put over shrimp and crab omelet for a special brunch. Just tell everyone not to salt anything if you are going to use the sauce. ( after finishing it, I added some swiss cheese and a pinch of dill to complement my seafood omelete. it was pretty good). Would definitely use this same recipe again.....minus all the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States