Basic Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I searched high and low for a bean soup like my mom used to make. This is it! So easy and tasty. I always cook it with a smoked shank or ham hock added for a little smokey flavor. Just removed before serving. I make this soup all the time in the winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUCKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I boiled a ham bone in the water, strained, then skimmed the fat and put the ham pieces back in for more ham flavor. Also used canned great northerns rinsed instead of dried. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I used 2 cups of veg broth and reduced by 2 cups of water total. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I thought this soup was okay. I followed the recipe almost exactly... I forgot to add the ketchup, but since it was just to "get the desired color" I guess I didn't miss out on the taste. I added salt and pepper, but it still seemed bland. Could use a few more spices, but it definitely gets points for the nutrition factor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
I tweaked this recipe a bit and my family loved it! I used a 15 bean mix (soaked overnight and drained); added some bacon along with the ham, add decreased the water by a few cups. I also used chicken broth and some left-over gravy in place of some of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I give this 4 stars since I found the instructions a little confusing - do you drain the soak water from the beans and then add a fresh 8 c or do you re-use the soaking water for the soup and add more to cover the beans? The directions on the bag of beans said after soaking to use fresh water, so I did, but then it was very watery after cooking for 6 hours - did not look appetizing. Luckily after letting the soup cool overnight more water absorbed and it ended up the perfect consistency. I also cubed a 1 lb ham slice and doubled the carrots for a heartier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
Good soup for a cold winters day. I used what was leftover from a picnic ham and just placed the whole thing, bone and all, in with the beans. The last hour I removed the meat from the bone. Put the ham into the pot and threw away the bones. It brought back memories of my Mothers bean soup. Thanks Chris, this is a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
I tried this soup last month and thought it was really good. The only thing I changed was that I added kielbasa sausage instead of ham, since it was what I had on hand. Thank you Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
This is a really good soup! Everyone loved it, including my small children! I used fried pieces of bacon instead of the ham, and didn't have fresh onion so I used dehydrated instead. I also added about a tbsp of red pepper flakes and it definately needed a little salt and pepper but it was really good! I will definately be making this again...and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This is a excellent soup. I followed the recipe to the letter. My family has a big "Soupfest" the Saturday after Christmas every year and this recipe was a really big hit. I made up a pan of Mexican cornbread to go with it and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States