Basic Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
After reading the "most helpful" reviews, this was my approach: 1.) Subsituted 2 packets of ham bouillon (each packet=1/4 lb. of ham) 2.) Added chopped celery (carrot sticks and celery sticks were purchased together already cut at WalMart) 3.) Added 2 cups of diced potatoes 4.) Added two tsps. of garlic, and approx. 1 tsp. of the following: basil, oregano, thyme, black pepper and seasalt, as well as 2-3 bay leaves. 5.) Left out the ketchup, as I was confused as to "why" to use it 6.) Tossed everything in the crock pot with 8 cups of water (per the original recipie) and let cook (KEEP TEMP LOW!!!!)for 7 hours. ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS AND NUTRICIOUS!!!!!! However, the morning after eating the soup, I realized my system was apparently ill-prepared to break down the beans, so I decided to add 7 drops of BEANO to each new serving (which solved the problem...) Will probably make at least twice a month from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sqt68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
This was a wonderfully flavorful and easy soup. Make sure to soak dry beans as they still take almost six hours of cooking to soften. I added a smoked pork hock during cooking. Watch your water level and add water as you go to make sure you end up with enough servings at your preferred consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This is a great recipe but I must admit I did make a few small changes...I added 2 stalks of celery, a bay leaf, 1 t. of garlic powder. I also set out a bottle of ketchup for those who prefer it instead of adding it directly to the mix. (Just a small amount of ketchup absolutely MAKES bean soup...the country restaurant here serves theirs with a dallop in the center!!) Also, I combined everything in my crock pot and cooked on low for 6 hours.....therefore no boiling...so easy & so good with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okeana, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
Great recipe but definitely need the meat as it can be quite bland otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I boiled a ham bone in the water, strained, then skimmed the fat and put the ham pieces back in for more ham flavor. Also used canned great northerns rinsed instead of dried. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2001
Quick, easy and fun to make with kids. Delicious, without being too fancy. Makes a great winter meal with some crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This is a excellent soup. I followed the recipe to the letter. My family has a big "Soupfest" the Saturday after Christmas every year and this recipe was a really big hit. I made up a pan of Mexican cornbread to go with it and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
My kids loved it and my husband (who generally doesn't like bean soup) had seconds. Very easy and very good. I've made it twice already, next time I think I'll use a blend of beans for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
This Soup Was Great,Quick & Simple. I Also Added Smoked Sausage & Crushed Hot Pepper For A Little Smokey Zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
I really like bean soup and this recipe is wonderful! It is so easy to make and truly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States