Basic Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Its OK. This is a very basic recipe with very little flavor. I followed the recipe exactly and when I tasted it 2 hours into the cooking I was disapointed so I added some seasonings. If you make this be ready to add some salt, pepper, maybe a bay leaf or whatever else you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I added a pound of ham and also a pound of bacon (fried before adding to the soup). I also used navy beans and the soup cooked really fast, it was done about an hour and a half sooner than I expected. This was sooooo good on a cold winter day. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Look at the comments and add a lot of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
SO-O-O-O GOOD! I made just a couple of minor changes - I used 2 chopped carrots, 2 sliced stalks of celery, and a bay leaf, but otherwise followed the recipe. This is great comfort food. Thank you for submitting this recipe. I will definitly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was really good, it did take forever for the beans to get done though. It ended up turning out to be more like stew it was so thick. It was very flavorful and my husband (who does not like beans) ate two bowls of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
After reading the "most helpful" reviews, this was my approach: 1.) Subsituted 2 packets of ham bouillon (each packet=1/4 lb. of ham) 2.) Added chopped celery (carrot sticks and celery sticks were purchased together already cut at WalMart) 3.) Added 2 cups of diced potatoes 4.) Added two tsps. of garlic, and approx. 1 tsp. of the following: basil, oregano, thyme, black pepper and seasalt, as well as 2-3 bay leaves. 5.) Left out the ketchup, as I was confused as to "why" to use it 6.) Tossed everything in the crock pot with 8 cups of water (per the original recipie) and let cook (KEEP TEMP LOW!!!!)for 7 hours. ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS AND NUTRICIOUS!!!!!! However, the morning after eating the soup, I realized my system was apparently ill-prepared to break down the beans, so I decided to add 7 drops of BEANO to each new serving (which solved the problem...) Will probably make at least twice a month from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sqt68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Very good and simple to make. Adding meat (I added hot italian sausage) is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This is a great recipe but I must admit I did make a few small changes...I added 2 stalks of celery, a bay leaf, 1 t. of garlic powder. I also set out a bottle of ketchup for those who prefer it instead of adding it directly to the mix. (Just a small amount of ketchup absolutely MAKES bean soup...the country restaurant here serves theirs with a dallop in the center!!) Also, I combined everything in my crock pot and cooked on low for 6 hours.....therefore no boiling...so easy & so good with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okeana, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
The basic recipe was fine. I added dry oregeno, thyme, basil, and a bay leaf. I also added 4 whole garlic cloves and used chicken boullion instead of plain water. I didn't add the ketcup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I love bean soups, but this one lacked flavor. Will make again, but sub veggie or chicken broth for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States