Basic Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
had a large meaty bone from a smoked pork butt and used it and some smoked pork chunks instead of ham. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I can't imagine anyone eating this soup as it is. It tasted like beans floating in ketchup water. I added celery, potato, barley, bay leaf, thyme, basil, garlic, bullion powder, cabbage, condensed tomato soup and Mrs. Dash. Even at that it is still watery. I'm hoping that after simmering all day it will have some taste by dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Great recipe! I have made it many times. It's a low-calorie lunch for me since I'm dieting and it does fill you up. Changes: I substituted 4 cans of beans instead of the dried ones. It speeds things along a lot!! (Rinse the beans off after dumping out of the can.) I also substituted chicken broth for water and added a couple of ham hocks for a smokier flavor. (I remove those after cooking.) It really is a great recipe as is and I would still give it 5 stars as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
A bit bland, but wonderfully comforting on a cold winter night. We had it with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I've actually made this before, minus the carrots and ketchup. I guess was a staple of larger families of the depression or later, as my family & inlaws had it on a regular basis. What we have done also, is made corn bread to put into soup as we are eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is a very good bean soup. I had a ham bone with meat on it in the freezer so I just threw that in with the beans. Came out great. I served with Indian Fry Bread. Yum. Great meal for a cold winter day! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by SHARYL4
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made this in the crock-pot. Used dry beans, 3 cans of chicken broth and 3 cups of water for flavor since I didn't have any ham. Did not precook/ soak the beans, just rinsed them and put them in. Cooked on high for 6 hours and low for about an hour. They came out great ! I was worried they would not get done without the first step, but they were nice and tender. Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARYL4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Was good. Didnt have catsup so subbed Hickory BBQ sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Crooked River Ranch, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
As a vegetarian I used Morningstar Farms bacon instead of ham to give it a smokey flavor. I just diced it up and added it halfway through. Seriously, it was delicious. I also added a half of a can of tomato sauce and a teaspoon of sugar instead of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Very easy. I used chicken broth instead of water and (drum roll) I added bacon drippings... I know, I know. (Next time I'll add garlic) : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Brian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States