Baseball Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
My husband doesn't bake, but he was determined to make me a birthday treat, he made these! Yummy! This was really good. Hats off to you Callero, this is still the only baking my husband has ever done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
These were big hits with my kids and friends they had over. Bit too "complex" for me for a treat. I will make these again for a special occasion but they are too time consuming and tons of ingredients for just a regular snack. Edited to add: you definitely need to cut back the amount of butterscotch chips. About 3 c chocolate and 1 c butterscotch would probably have been better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandagorby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I think these bars are perfect as written. They are quite thick and yes, there is a lot of topping - but they taste awesome. Exactly the sweet, rich treat I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
So good - I can't believe there aren't more reviews for this recipe! My fiance and his mother loved these. Next time I will make more of the oat layer and less of the chocolate-butterscotch-nut layer - now it's about two parts chocolate to one part oats. I suppose you could reduce the chocolate part by using a larger pan, but you'd still need to increase the oat portion. Whether you do or don't choose to make this change, I recommend trying this recipe - it's sure to be a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
13 x 9 2c choc chips and 1 c butterscotch still very rich, would reduce again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I made this twice with different results. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly. The oatmeal crust was brick-hard and the chocolate kept separating from the crust when I was trying to chisel it out of the pan. On the 2nd attempt, I made several changes: I halved the recipe and put it in an 8x8 pan. I turned the oven down to 350 and only baked the oatmeal crust for 5 minutes. I also used 3 parts chocolate chips and 1 part butterscotch chips because I thought it was too sweet with the 50/50 mix. Lastly, I used Crisco to grease the pan instead of baking spray. The 2nd batch was much improved over the first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I made these for my church youth group, the kids loved 'em, but I had a problem getting the topping to stick to the base... they kept separating. Other than that they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
This recipe is PERFECT and written just the way they are supposed to be baked in my opinion. I even doubled the recipe and baked them in a 15x10. In a 9x9 square they bake beautifully. Cookies are meant to be rich and decadent. I just don't see how any could complain about these divine treats! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
Yes, it should be a 9x13 pan! I think next time, I'll stay with the 8" square (who has ever heard of a 9" square??) and leave the oatmeal mixture at the same proporation. However, I'd reduce the chocolate topping to half. They are yummy! The 8" square could feed 100 people! They are rich like fudge...a small piece goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
I used the 9 X 13 once i saw how much oatmeal you put in them. So use that size! Other than that these are the best bar cookies i've ever had, it got a girl to like me! yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States