Basa Fillets in Tomatillo Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I already had cooked rice on hand so this review is for the fish. I had catfish fillets which worked well and I had a green tomatillo salsa that I used with a few dashes of El Pato jalapeno sauce for a kick. So my recipe was quite simplified but I think very yummy. My husband was skeptical because he only likes catfish after it has been breaded, but he said it was good. I still think there could've been a few more flavors???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Great Recipe!! Everybody loved it! Only suggestion is to double the rice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This recipe is Amazing!! My sister loved it even more. I only had two filets so I followed amt for 2 however in future i would use half the amount of salt taste then add accordingly. Since I was worried about saltiness I doubled sauce and used on chix following same instructions. I started not realizing i didnt have all ingredients so I substituted green onion and used cilantro cube that I stirred into sauce. Baked on 350 till breasts were almost done then turned on broiler and let juice aand sauce reduce and it was just as good. I used chix breasts from costco that are done in oven freezer to table in 15min so it didnt take long.Will be keeping in rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I skipped the rice and used tilapia instead of basa, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Overall, it is a really tasty and interesting dish. The tomatillo sauce was crisp and tangy and tasted great with the fish, but I thought it was a little too watery and will try to thicken it up next time so it adheres to the fish better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
A new favorite! I just had plain white rice (the extra salt isn't needed). And coated the fish in flour, parm cheese, S&P and garlic and lightly fried them in olive oil. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I was really physced by the concept of the tomatillo sauce...but after I tasted it was very disappointed. Added the juice of a whole lemon and 2 T. chopped cilantro. Served with blackend red snapper and it became very acceptable with the changes. Lemon and cilantro are highly recommended as are your choices of other herbs. Needs personal touchs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This recipie was AMAZING! My hubby LOVED it! The only thing that i changed was that i put more peppers in it. I put 9 and i still thought it wasn't spicey enough but other thanthat it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is a fabulous and really easy recipe. I did not have access to the Basa fillets, so I used talapia fillets, and it turned out really well. The sauce is terrific, and I know we'll use it for other dishes as well. My husband loves this dish, and we will definitely have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Had many tomatillos that I need to use. This was the perfect recipe and tasted delicious. I used Cod instead and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This is a good, solid recipe. I ran out of fresh garlic so had to use dried garlic instead, replaced the long grain with brown, omitted the bouillon and salt (sticking to a low-salt diet), but followed everything else. The flavors are too similar to that of the Tomatillo Soup recipe (made it a few days ago, actually prefer it over the fish!) for me to call it spectacular... but nonetheless a very healthy and tasteful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States