Barlow's Blackened Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Very good. I added 1/4 tsp of rosemary and 1/2 tsp of thyme (both dried) to the blackened seasoning and let them sit in the fridge for 20 minutes. And a very very hot cast iron skillet is the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I don't normally write reviews; but, I HAVE to say something about this one.. I did not like this one! I am a huge fish fan and fix it weekly. Way too spicy. Too many flavors going on with the cajun spices, butter, italian dressing.. etc. for my palate. So, for me, I have to just scratch this recipe altogether. However, if you want to try this recipe, you MUST understand a few key things. In the original instructions it says to rub the fish with the spices. I would suggest only rubbing one side or just sprinkling it on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Unbelievable!! This is probably the best fish I have had on this website so far... The only thing we changed was using a little oil instead of butter, and it was fantastic.. I agree with some of the other reviews, if you dont like hot food, cut down on the cayenne pepper.. A+++ Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MikeKaser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Very good. Nice change from the usual fried catfish. I made the seasoning as written but sprinkled it on some of the catfish nuggets so I had some with more spice and some with less to suit everyone's taste. It is spicy! I usually cut salt but made this as written and it was fine. Definitely keep the fan on! All of us were coughing as it was blackening. No smoke, just the smell of the spices. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was very tasty and contrary to other reviews it didn't smoke up my kitchen at all. I'm thinking that since I didn't have my burner on high it didn't smoke but rather had it on medium high heat. Was very tasty even though I'm not much on fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed this spicy catfish. I did cut the salt to 1 teaspoon and that was enough. Lessons learned: Make sure the pan you fry in is good and hot before searing the fish. I think you could cut back on the italian dressing as much of it just sits in the baking dish. I'll be making this again. Thanks (UPDATE: I see people rating this recipe before they even try it (that's just weird!) because of the cooking time or spices - I've used this recipe for over a year and it is GREAT! The fish does not dry out. I did need to practice a few times to get the searing method correct. If you like blackened catfish - just try it - nice blend of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Wow. A hit with the fam. Thanks for sharing! Works well with cajun seasoning too, if you don't have the other spices available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This recipe was super easy, and even my picky eating husband loved it! Will definitely be making this again. A few suggestions though, as previous posters have recommended: cut the amount of salt and cayenne pepper. I made it with 1 1/2 tsp cayenne and 2 tsp of salt, and while it was still good, the salt and heat were a little overwhelming. Next time I'll use only 1 tsp of salt and cayenne. Excellent flavors, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
also excellent with tilapia yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANGSTON28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Made several times & had to reduce amount of spices. Not something I make often, but is easy. We've used catfish nuggets also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States