Barlow's Blackened Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was a really good catfish recipe. I thought it would be a good one to try as I have never done a blackened fish before and it looked like a simple enough recipe. I recommend opening the windows and turning on the fan during the initial blackening process, as I managed to smoke up my entire house. Oh well, I guess that comes with the territory, being my first time and all. As for the fish itself, I really liked the flavor, but next time I make this recipe, I'm going to cut the salt in half as it was just a but too salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This recipe and flavor was fantastic. The spices and salt was a very good compliment to the cat fish delicate flavor. I had no lemon pepper so replaced with chopped lemon zest and pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Very nice, a little sweet for me. But i would make it again if I had a spare cat fish fillet. 3.5/5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by lisa2roberto
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very good recipe! I can't even imagine 2tsp of cayenne, I did 1tsp and that was plenty spicy and I am not a light weight. I added some onion powder for a little boost. Served it with the Dill Sauce recipe here on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
The rubbed on mixture was awesome. However, I found the Italian dressing just too much for the rest of the flavors. I would make this recipe again just using the rub and forget the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Excelent catfish!!! I tried it with catfish nuggets, and it didn't come out as good, so I always use fillets now. Also, I didn't bake it as long as it recommended, only about 15-20 minutes. However, I brought a sample to my aunt's house at thanksgiving, and now she's coming to OUR house during my school's Christmas break so I can cook it for her, I highly recommended it to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Even good without the italian dressing or lemon pepper. Melted the butter then sprinkled the cayenne, black pepper and salt on. Probably not as much as the recipe calls for. Fried on high for about 1 minute on each side the baked for 25 minutes at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
way way WAY too salty...!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Would have been a great recipe, but so salty we ended throwing it out. Will try again without salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Excellent recipe. Make sure you turn on the oven fan and open a window. Tasted perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jpav

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States