Barlow's Blackened Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Will not make this again. Waste of time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I have made Blackened Catfish many times. Most recipes call for the major ingredient to be paprika. I would reduce the cayenne to at most 1/4 teaspoon and add paprika to make up the difference. See Blackened Seasoning Mix on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwightNT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I'll admit I haven't tried this recipe yet, but as soon as I saw that it says to pan fry the fillets for 2 minutes per side, then bake for another HALF HOUR I knew this recipe wasn't for me! The fish would be dried out garbage after that much cooking time - I don't care how thick the fillets are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
A little spicy but other wise really good. Next time I'll cut the spices half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Easy recipe that gives a ton of flavor to broing fish. I only use 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper so my children can also eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Perfect! Very flavorful with the right amount of heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mochalova5

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Made it with the dijon mustard and oh my does it add a delicious zip! My husband says it is a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
My favorite catfish recipe! I used a cast iron pan to blacken then just transfered the pan directly to the oven after adding the italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylorsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I cut the cayenne in 1/2 and added a cajun spice I had not used yet. I did not have the salad dressing so stirred lime juice into the spices at the bowl bottom and poured that over the fish. I also Just put some butter in the pan to sear with instead of brushing the butter on the sides. I also just heated everything back up in my electric skillet to serve instead of doing oven. Saved a pan and having to deal with oven. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I enjoyed it very much, I also used some garlic and onion powders on both sided as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States