Barlow's Blackened Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This is my first review and I felt it was definitely necessary. The recipe as written is a 2 which may be generous. I read the reviews and saw many said it was too salty but I like to do the exact recipe and make modifications on the next round. This one I should have listened... Way too salty not even sure it needs more than a sprinkle. Also, I don't understand why you use so much Italian dressing. I think a squirt or to would be enough or omit it altogether. If you don't overcook when blackening or when you put it in the oven it won't be dry. People tend to overcook fish. I ended up scraping all of the blackened skin coating off and that way I was able to eat it, it still had a nice flavor. The heat wasn't an issue for me. I served it over cheese grits and the combination was really good. Also, my grits weren't salty and I tried the fish before putting on the grits, so I know for a fact it was the fish alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Leave out the salt. It was incredibly salty with the salt. Even my husband (the amazing salt eater) complained that it was too salty. It would have gotten a 5 if it hadn't been so salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Delicious and so simple! I made this almost exactly as prepared, except that I (1) cut about half a teaspoon of the cayenne and substituted half a teaspoon of Creole seasoning, and (2) was out of Italian dressing so used olive oil instead. (In future I will probably use olive oil instead of the butter to coat the filets as well.) Came out absolutely perfect. It's a hot and spicy recipe, but that's exactly why I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This recipe was really excellent but I think it was way to salty and a bit spicy for the wife. Next time I will cut way back on the salt, maybe just 1/2 tsp and add more at the table if needed. I cought some river cats and filleted them, soaked them in buttermilk for 2 hours then did the recipe just as directed. I dont think you need to go 30 minutes in the oven though, just long enought to get the dressing hot. We served the fillets over a bed of lettuce and I am so glad to find a great way to do catfish other than frying. Ive been snacking on the leftovers today right out of the fridge and there great. I think next time I will make a poboy with this recip dressed with tomato and lettuce. Way to go Barlow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Northbounder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is because it was WAY to salty. I will be making this again but reducing the salt by at least half if not more. Other than that it was really tasty and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I will make this again minus the Italian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annette Williams
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This fish was soooooooo delicious! It was flaky and the italian dressing gave it great flavor! As with some of the other reviewers, I made some minor modifications. I cut back on the cayenne pepper (I used 1/8 tsp), the salt (I used 1/2 tsp), the black pepper(I used 1/2 tsp), and the italian dressing. I didn't quite use the full 1 cup. But, since the sauce was so good, I'll be sure to use all of it the next time I make this dish! I also used olive oil instead of butter to blacken the fillets. Overall, this recipe gets an A+ from me! I'm sharing it with all of my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
On diet, so cut the salt to one tablespoon, used homemade vinegar être instead of dressing. But yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I love this recipe. We have it whenever we feel like eating something really special but don't feel like spending much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
It was a little too salty, but that may be partially due to misinterpretation of the recipe. I'm not sure if the lemon pepper is supposed to be lemon pepper seasoning or dried, ground lemon pepper (there is actually a pepper called lemon pepper) I used the lemon pepper seasoning, which contained salt, and that might have been the problem. But the recipe isn't terribly clear. Nevertheless, it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States