Barlow's Blackened Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Delicious!! I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. The spice is amazing, and although I was a little nervous about the raw smell of catfish the end result was amazing. Just be sure to have the stovetop fan on before pan frying the fish--it gets smokey very quickly and the spices almost get stuck in your lungs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This is a great recipe if you like spicy food. my husband couldn't get enough. i made it again and used less cayenne and i loved it and i normally don't even like fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hairbrush

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Really like this recipe, have made it many times and it is really easy. I used less of the italian dressing, just enough to coat the fish while it's baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Even the picky kiddos loved this recipe. usually have to fix something for them afterwards if I fix something spicy, but they both loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This was a very good recipe. I did what others suggested and cut down on the red pepper flakes.Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sumner, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Excellent! I used French dressing instead of Italian, and it added a little more of a kick, which I loved! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
WARNING!! No exaggeration it’s extremely spicy!! I had to open my windows and doors just to breathe while cooking this fish, my eyes where watery, and I did a lot of coughing, I thought I did something wrong, but I followed directions. It had a lot of flavor, but too spicy for my kids to enjoy, next time I’ll use much less cayenne…but, overall it was still very delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEECHIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Followed the recipe and the results were delicious! My husband loved it too- and he's usually a picky eater. I will make this again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M_low

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Wow, people were not joking about the smoke. I needed a dust mask just to breathe while blackening!!! It was ridiculous. Used catfish nuggets, doubled the recipe except only used 1 tsp. of cayenne - it still had plenty of kick! Did not have lemon pepper so substituted equal parts pre-mixed Cajun spice. That might have had something to do with the super kick;next time I would use even less of the cayenne (like less than 1/2 tsp. for a double batch.) Doubling the spice mix, I did not have enough to coat 2 lbs. of nuggets. My nuggets were also slightly frozen still, so needed longer than 35 minutes for baking time. Flavor was good & they came out moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
So good. Yummy yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lumberton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States