Barlow's Blackened Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Even though I had difficulty eating this dish (I cut the amount of cayenne pepper in half and everyone's mouths were still on fire), the catfish had such a wonderful flavor to it! I'll definately try making this dish again (maybe with a little less pepper)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BugNBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Like many others I have never left a review but my wife and kids loved it so much I had to leave one. Really easy dish to make, and Im not very good when it comes to cooking indoors. Really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
My husband said, "you're going to make this again, aren't you?" We both enjoyed it. The only change I made was using olive oil instead of butter. We like things hot, but I think 1 1/2 tsp of cayenne would be a little more palatable -it would still be hot. If you don't like your tongue to burn definitely cut it to 1 teaspoon. I would suggest serving this fish with something cooling. I served it with Oriental Sesame Slaw and fresh cut up fruit and it was a great combination. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Safford, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Very yummy. My children ask for it every week. I tweaked the recipe slightly. For one pound recipe, I halved the spices and dressing. It was just too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
It was smoky in the house but it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I usually do not add salt, because my husband is not a big salt eater. I also cook this on my George Forman grill because I like it crispy on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
OK, being from the great white north where we don't eat catfish on purpose, I was skeptical that I'd even like this recipe. My southern born and bred boyfriend and I rarely agree on food and the normal "fried in cornmeal" southern channel cat recipes don't appeal to me at all, but wel all like cajun type stuff, so when my son brought 15 catfish filets home from his fishing trip last weekend, I gave this a go. It was AWESOME! Spicy and tender and flaky. Fifteen filets, two teenagers, one good ol southern country boy, one displaced yankee, zero leftovers. 'Nuff said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marengo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Really good and moist loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
The blackened seasoning was good,but way too much on the italian dressing, could not get past the dressing flavor a bit much overtook the fish, this may be good on chicken breast , but wont try it on fish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
The variety of spices gives this catfish great taste; however, I do not recommend the strong spices for young children or sensitive stomaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magdalena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States