Barlow's Blackened Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This recipe was really excellent but I think it was way to salty and a bit spicy for the wife. Next time I will cut way back on the salt, maybe just 1/2 tsp and add more at the table if needed. I cought some river cats and filleted them, soaked them in buttermilk for 2 hours then did the recipe just as directed. I dont think you need to go 30 minutes in the oven though, just long enought to get the dressing hot. We served the fillets over a bed of lettuce and I am so glad to find a great way to do catfish other than frying. Ive been snacking on the leftovers today right out of the fridge and there great. I think next time I will make a poboy with this recip dressed with tomato and lettuce. Way to go Barlow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Northbounder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is because it was WAY to salty. I will be making this again but reducing the salt by at least half if not more. Other than that it was really tasty and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I will make this again minus the Italian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annette Williams
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This fish was soooooooo delicious! It was flaky and the italian dressing gave it great flavor! As with some of the other reviewers, I made some minor modifications. I cut back on the cayenne pepper (I used 1/8 tsp), the salt (I used 1/2 tsp), the black pepper(I used 1/2 tsp), and the italian dressing. I didn't quite use the full 1 cup. But, since the sauce was so good, I'll be sure to use all of it the next time I make this dish! I also used olive oil instead of butter to blacken the fillets. Overall, this recipe gets an A+ from me! I'm sharing it with all of my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
On diet, so cut the salt to one tablespoon, used homemade vinegar être instead of dressing. But yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I love this recipe. We have it whenever we feel like eating something really special but don't feel like spending much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
It was a little too salty, but that may be partially due to misinterpretation of the recipe. I'm not sure if the lemon pepper is supposed to be lemon pepper seasoning or dried, ground lemon pepper (there is actually a pepper called lemon pepper) I used the lemon pepper seasoning, which contained salt, and that might have been the problem. But the recipe isn't terribly clear. Nevertheless, it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Will not make this again. Waste of time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I have made Blackened Catfish many times. Most recipes call for the major ingredient to be paprika. I would reduce the cayenne to at most 1/4 teaspoon and add paprika to make up the difference. See Blackened Seasoning Mix on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwightNT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I'll admit I haven't tried this recipe yet, but as soon as I saw that it says to pan fry the fillets for 2 minutes per side, then bake for another HALF HOUR I knew this recipe wasn't for me! The fish would be dried out garbage after that much cooking time - I don't care how thick the fillets are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States