Barlow's Blackened Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I cut back on the cayenne and salt and still had some spice mix leftover. Also used 1/2 cup of the dressing and no butter. Easy weeknight recipe with a kick. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I usually read the reviews but was in a hurry. Wish I had! lol It was okay. Next time I'll use less salt, two teaspoons was definitely too much. Other than that, it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaRoyce Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Will like to try on other fish and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This dish was a hit! I used sea salt and only one teaspoon.And sprinkled fillets with a touch of seasoned salt instead of Italian dressing.Covered fillets. With aluminum foil to keep moist.Topped with a lemon butter sauce.Wasn't to spicy.Will add this dish to my rotation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was tasty, very spicy even after I cut the cayenne in half. Definitely smokes up the kitchen, next time I'll probably try putting the cast iron skillet out on the grill to cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I was at the new Sprouts Market in my neighborhood and they had some fresh catfish. I am trying to eat more fish, so thought I would try it. They guy at the meat counter said it was good. I thought I would try this one as I was concerned that the fish might be too strong. I modified it a little bit, but it is still HOT!. I do like hot though. When I added a little lemon juice it took away some of the hot. I read several of the reviews and added less seasoning and no salt. I used 1/2 of the pepper, cayenne, and garlic powder. I did not have lemon pepper, so I used the zest of a lemon and mixed that in the mixture. Instead of using butter, I used a spritzer and sprayed olive oil on both sides, then put on the rub. I put a little olive oil in the pan too prior to blackening. I then put it in the pan and put Italian dressing on both sides. I had some type of light wishbone Italian I like. I did not use a whole cup, I just put some on the top and bottom and baked for 30 minutes. It was really good. I can't remember the last time I had catfish, probably a really, really long time, but it was good, easy, fast and I will make it again. I just ate it with some plan brown rice, slice of trader joes sprouted wheat bread and some frozen french green beans I got at Trader Joes cooked in the microwave. Turned out to be good. There was one filet that I cut into two sections. I ate it all, but it was a lot. Try it, you will like it even if you are a little cautious about fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Clare
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Made this a few times, the base recipe is a 5 star, but I'm lazy so suggesting some 4 star changes: 2 tsp minced garlic, 1 tsp lemon grass powder, 2 tsp black pepper, 1 tsp chipotle chili powder, 3 tbsp lemon juice, butter to 0 and replace with olive oil. Definately a good catfish recipe as judged by a south-east'er on it's stock recipe, just a bit more time consuming than i prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Granite Falls, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
only used 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, GREAT fish recipe, and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamieb85
Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I love spicy food and this is wonderful. Great spicy flavor to it. The only thing I would suggest is using 1/2 of what it calls for on the Itailan dressing or just omiting it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgangary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States