Barlow's Blackened Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I used fresh lemon juice (half a lemon) mixed with the melted butter (no lemon pepper). My kids don't like HOT so I prepared theirs without cayenne, then added it to make mine. As per other reviews I drizzled the italian dressing on-it did not take 1 whole cup. This is about a 7 out of 10 hottness if you use the recipe as is. I chose to serve this with Garlic Mashed Potatoes and Kickin Collard Greens! The meal altogether is heaven, just heaven. The kids love this one! Great leftover too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Threeicys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Yummy, even though we didn't use catfish, but regular ole white fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was surprisingly good. I like things spicy, and this was just about as hot as I can eat and still enjoy the flavor. Per other reviews I cut the salt down to 1/4 of the original amount listed (probably could omit it completely). Instead of salad dressing I used 1/2 tbsp canola oil mixed with 1/8 tsp Italian seasoning for each fillet. Also, 30-35 minutes would be WAY too long a cooking time, especially if you have thin fillets and/or cut down the recipe. I used a single 1/2" thick fillet and only needed to cook for 10 minutes. This went well with candied sweet potatoes, but would be wonderful served with applesauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was good! I never follow recipes exactly, though, so there were a few changes made to the original. I used a tad more garlic powder (we love garlic here), and cut down on the cayenne. I also added blackened seasoning and old bay to make up for lack of cayenne. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
this was awful. way to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Hubby and I thought it was delicious, but it was a bit too spicy for our 5 year old, so I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn in CT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Yummy! I may even skip the dressing/baking next time, it was already delicious. thanks Barlow! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latsyrc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
very good. and very peppery. will probley cut Cayenne pepper to 1 & 1/2 and pepper to 1 next time. but def a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Great flavor but too hot! And I like hot. either leave out the red pepper or use just a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States