Barlow's Blackened Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I made this for my boyfriend and he devoured it! The flavors were great and he couldn't stop eating it! Will be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iselin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Good recipe. I used less cayenne pepper, salt, and black pepper and it still had a huge fiery kick. Also, I used maybe three tablespoons of fat-free Italian dressing for my three four-oz. fillets. The suggested amount would have been way too much. Before making this dish though, I knew that I wasn’t going to get the blackened look with my non-stick skillet, but it was still good. I served it with rice and spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Very good but next time I'll lighten up on the cayenne (I don't like a lot of spice). But I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Wilkerson Harmon
Living In: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I have been using this recipe for about 2 years and it is very very good. I even like it better the next day. I think the seasoning is perfect. I use it for chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mania

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
WOWSA! This was GOOOD! It was a bit too spicy for some of the family so next time I might do half without the cayenne - other than that it was awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was very good, but I too thought the seasoning overpowered the fish a bit (and I like spicy food!). Perhaps I put too much on the fish. Next time, I would "lightly" coat both side by sprinkling the mixture on the fish rather than rubbing it on. I also didn't need to cook it as long as it said. I think I had it in the over for only about 25 minutes and that was good enough. It is a keeper.....just be careful not to put too much seasoning on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelayna
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Everyone who tasted this HATED the blackening seasoning. Yuck! It was too strong, and the cayenne pepper overpowered the fish. I'd never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Next time we will use less dressing. It was a little much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 23DAISYS
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Made as is. Quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was absolutely awesome! My husband said this was "restaurant good" and a definite recipe to repeat. That makes me happy because it was easy. I was going to serve it with rice but we were out. So I served it with garlic mashed potatoes. Great dinner! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlynJason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States