Barlow's Blackened Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
followed recipe exactly and it's WAY too salty. had to scrape some of the surface away. other than that tho, tasted excellent. would defo make again w/ less salt. plus, catfish is an eco friendly fish, so win there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjacko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I myself also cut the salt all the way out and the cayenne pepper in half however I did use the butter didn't like the out come next time I will use some olive oil instead due to I don't really like blackened anything. So just to cook the seasoning and precook the fish will be fine with me. However it was good to my husband and we had a zucchini and yellow squash with clam meat salad instead of the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mstexas63

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This was fantastic! I didn't quite use all the rub, but the fish was still completely covered. I also fried the fish in a little canola instead of using the butter, but it was amazing. This will definitely make it into my fish rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I made it exactly as stated in the recipe and I have to give it 3 stars because of the salt. 2 tsp was a lot, and then to bake it in the italian dressing just made for a really salty meal!! Next time I make it, I will omit the salt completely. EDIT- We made a second time (with half the salt!) and this time, we just left it on the pan and blackened it for about 10 min. Did not do the oven with the dressing. I thought it tasted even better this way!! Warning - it is very spicy, but I love it this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I make a very very altered version of this recipe, but it turns out fantastic! Basically I thaw my catfish fillets, rinse, then cover with Cajun seasoning. I fry them up in hot olive oil for ~2 mins/side. Then, I cover with the Italian dressing and bake at 350 for 20 mins. It's really good and simple! Serve with green beans and lo-sodium dirty rice mix minus the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amninta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Great recipe if you like it hot! I made this for myself because my guy hates fish. So, I cut the spices in half and the salt 1/4 tsp. Then since I can't have all the calories from the Italian dressing, I just used 2tbs. per fillet. Yummy.. I used this for my fish tacos. Which was just the blackened fish, lettuce and special tartar sauce in a semi-crunchy tortilla. Also it took 15 minutes in my oven. Thanks will be sure to use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I made this dish and there was nothing left. My husband couldnt get enough of this meal. I did use 1/2 the ceyenne pepper and regular pepper than it called for and still had a kick. I will definately be making this meal again. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaimeEC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valley Stream, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Very tasty, the cayenne and pepper really penetrate the fish. I agree with most other people, use a lot less salt, and half the cayenne pepper Another suggestion. I had a 1/2 pound catfish, and cooked it on 350 for 20 min, and it came out a little dry so I would check it after 15 to see how it is making out. I made this over brown rice, the italian dressing sauce that's left over flavored the rice beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peekskill, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This recipe is very flexible. I was out of lemon pepper so I substituted with fresh lime juice (no kidding). I was out of cayene pepper so I sustituted with a seafood seasoning. I didn't want to put the butter so I used olive oil. It was fantastic! Kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Absolutely delicious! The only thing I did was use the Newman's Own Oil and Vinegar Dressing instead of Italian because that is all I had. OH wow! Absolutely yummy! Thank you SOOOO much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States