Barlow's Blackened Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I like this recipe. A little spicey but very good. Add lemon on it and it should be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Keating

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I was nervous to try this recipe as I have never done anything blackened. It was wonderful, juicy, and flavorful. I followed the recipe with only the following little changes. I added onion powder to the seasoning and some EVOO to my cast iron skillet to blacken the fish. I did not use the whole cup on italian dressing, but enough to cover the fillets. I served it with baked potato, steamed spinach, and a salad. My husband, who was weary of catfish, said it was great. I think the spicy level was just right. Taste your rub before hand so you know if it needs more or less. And like others said, open the window and prepare for smoke. I may try it with coconut oil next time as it can get hotter without the smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This recipe was delicious, but I did make some modifications. I had to make up 2 cayenne pepper mixtures because my cat fish were big. Sprinkle cayenne pepper, no salt, dash of pepper, use olive oil instead of butter, sprinkle both sides of fish (after rubbing olive oil on) with Creole Seasoning, drizzle Italian Dressing & squeezed fresh lemon juice on fish when done baking. Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I have never cooked any fish of any kind before. This was the most delicious and easiest recipe I have ever tried! Mouth watering! The local store here in Texas (Kroger) have Catfish fillets on sale this week and I went back and bought more! I will most certainly share this recipe with all my friends! Thank you Barlow who ever you are. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I LOVED this recipe and didn't change a thing. Very yummy with some rice and green tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
My children loved it, as well as my boyfriend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Omitted salt entirely and just drizzled with italian dressing (health/sodium reasons)... Delicious!! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
My fiance is from New Orleans so I'm constantly trying to find cajun recipes for him. His biggest complaint about most of the recipes I've tried (this 1 included) is that we all seem to assume "Cajun" means SPICY..which it does not, at least not HOT spicy..it's essentially "flavorful & blackened". I don't eat seafood & I can't tolerate anything more than mild spice so I've always stayed away from "Cajun" recipes but having been down there w/him a few times, he's right, there IS a HUGE difference (I can actually eat many REAL Cajun recipes). If it's spicy it spicy, not Cajun. I won't use this recipe again for the reasons outlined but I imagine from his description that anyone who DOES like hot-n-spiciness would probably LOVE it, that's just not us. Enjoy if you do try it..won't know if ya don't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I tweaked the recipe by adding onion powder and reducing the cayenne pepper to 1 tsp. but it turned out delicious - a real winner at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Delicious, but the cayenne pepper may be too much. Cut back a bit, and it'd be perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anguye52

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States