Barley Salad With Almonds And Apricots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Interesting flavour - it was bland at first but I doubled the spices and it got better. I might make again but it doesn't really hold a candle to a good pilaf. Made a TON, but it makes great leftovers so that's alright!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I doubled the recipe and did not have enough dried apricots. So, I used dried cranberries AND dried apricots. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Qualls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Great texture adn flavour, but needs to be at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
A great healthy, hearty flavorful salad. I made the barley in my rice cooker (1 cup barley, 2 cups water, normal rice cooker setting) which saved me a lot of time and labor making this super easy. I reduced the other ingredients by about 1/3 as well. Because it's barley based, it is much more filling than I expected so one person won't need much! Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I love barley and apricots and almonds and yogourt, but found this salad bland. I followed the recipe exactly, apart from slightly decreasing the lemon juice and doubling the cinnamon and turmeric, as other reviewers suggested. I was expecting to love it, but found the result disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This dish tasted fine, but wasn't anything too special. I suggest you halve the recipe when you first try it, because it makes quite a lot, and you may end up getting tired of it even if you're not the only one in the house interested in eating it (as I was).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I loved this one. I doubled the spices and substituted cranberries for the apricots. I'm making a big batch for my daughter's wedding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This salad was good, but I think I will try dicing the onions also, or just leave them out. I was out of nutmeg, so I added some allspice, which was very good. I might also try using vanilla yogurt instead of plain mixed with honey and lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was good on day 1, but it makes a ton and doesn't keep well. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I guess I just don't like barley in something else than a soup....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States