Barley Salad With Almonds And Apricots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Interesting flavour - it was bland at first but I doubled the spices and it got better. I might make again but it doesn't really hold a candle to a good pilaf. Made a TON, but it makes great leftovers so that's alright!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I doubled the recipe and did not have enough dried apricots. So, I used dried cranberries AND dried apricots. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Qualls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Great texture adn flavour, but needs to be at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
A great healthy, hearty flavorful salad. I made the barley in my rice cooker (1 cup barley, 2 cups water, normal rice cooker setting) which saved me a lot of time and labor making this super easy. I reduced the other ingredients by about 1/3 as well. Because it's barley based, it is much more filling than I expected so one person won't need much! Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I love barley and apricots and almonds and yogourt, but found this salad bland. I followed the recipe exactly, apart from slightly decreasing the lemon juice and doubling the cinnamon and turmeric, as other reviewers suggested. I was expecting to love it, but found the result disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This dish tasted fine, but wasn't anything too special. I suggest you halve the recipe when you first try it, because it makes quite a lot, and you may end up getting tired of it even if you're not the only one in the house interested in eating it (as I was).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I loved this one. I doubled the spices and substituted cranberries for the apricots. I'm making a big batch for my daughter's wedding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This salad was good, but I think I will try dicing the onions also, or just leave them out. I was out of nutmeg, so I added some allspice, which was very good. I might also try using vanilla yogurt instead of plain mixed with honey and lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was good on day 1, but it makes a ton and doesn't keep well. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I guess I just don't like barley in something else than a soup....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States