Barley Risotto Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Great recipe. I am always looking for more healthy but equally tasty versions of my family's favorite recipes. My husband's risotto is hands-down the best I've ever had, but we all came back for seconds on this one, too (even my 16-month-old). I made it with minor revisions: (1) I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil for sauteing the onion (grabbed it on accident). (2) I used ~4.5c chicken broth, and probably ~2-3c vegetable broth. (3) I added ~1 Tbsp of mascarpone cheese along with the knob of butter and parmesan at the end. (4) I skipped the dried thyme and black pepper, and didn't add salt at all (it didn't need it). My hubby and 5-year-old skipped the veggies (I kept them on the side), but the littlest one and I gobbled them up. It took me longer than 20 min to make (more like 1-1.5h). I started it out on low (after adding the initial 2 c of broth), but bumped the heat up to medium low after ~30min on my husband's suggestion. It helped. The barley was perfectly done at the end - slightly chewy, and a lovely caramel color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Great way to use some of your garden veges. I too started it out on low (after adding the initial 2 c of broth), but bumped the heat up to medium low after ~30min. It does take longer than 20 min for the barley to absorb all the broth. You don't want to rush the barley too much. The consistency, taste, and golden color are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Very good! All of my young kids and husband ate it up. I did just mince all the veggies, onion, and garlic and sauteed them together in olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Such a delicious recipe. I substituted olive oil for vegetable oil and vegetable broth for chicken broth, and it turned out extremely flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Very yummy, I only used zucchini-approx. 1 cup. I never use pearl barley I only use Hull-less Barley which is a nice whole grain. I let the whole grain barley cook for much longer than pearl barley, so approx. 60 min and the w/out cover for 10 more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
oh my lanta...YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naenae are you kidding me?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
i used romano instead of parmesan and it turned out very good. but the cooking time was def a lot longer than an hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
16 month old and I both really liked it. Hubby hated it and wouldn't eat it. So, I went with 3 stars as the family average. Oh, and I did make two changes: I cooked the veggies in bacon grease instead of oil and used 4 squash instead of a zucchini. And I used the optional butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Risotto always takes time and attention but it is always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Surprisingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States