Barley Risotto Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
So good. I have never rated a recipe before, but this was so good I had to. I was afraid I would be the only one at the table to like it. But low and behold my husband, 4 and 1 year old loved it. So much so I made it again later in the week, added extra veggies and made it our main course. I also on accident didn't follow directions to a T the first time I made it and while broth was heating threw all the veggies in together to cook. The next time I was more organized but still threw the veggies together, starting first with the carrots, sweated with a lid on for a few minutes. Oh I also just put all the liquid in at once. I guess I love this recipe because I messed up both times and I was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I had less barley on hand than I thought and no other grains in the house. I did find a package of ramen, crushed it up & added that to the barley. Since I used less barley, I used less stock. I also added some avocado at the end for creaminess & color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Made the recipe as written. It basically met expectations: tastes like barley with some veggies. It's a good, healthful side dish, which is what I was looking for, but I probably won't make it again. As long as you aren't expecting anything special, you'll be satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glowiie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Not as "easy" as I had hoped bc of prep time and constant attention, but still simple. You definitely dont need to be precise with measurements, and the broth is excessive,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Surprisingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Risotto always takes time and attention but it is always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
16 month old and I both really liked it. Hubby hated it and wouldn't eat it. So, I went with 3 stars as the family average. Oh, and I did make two changes: I cooked the veggies in bacon grease instead of oil and used 4 squash instead of a zucchini. And I used the optional butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
i used romano instead of parmesan and it turned out very good. but the cooking time was def a lot longer than an hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
oh my lanta...YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naenae are you kidding me?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Very yummy, I only used zucchini-approx. 1 cup. I never use pearl barley I only use Hull-less Barley which is a nice whole grain. I let the whole grain barley cook for much longer than pearl barley, so approx. 60 min and the w/out cover for 10 more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Karen's Tips for Easy Baked Risotto

Get tips for making easy baked mushroom and onion risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States