Barley Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
Excellent side dish -- I even enjoyed the zuchini, which is a rarity for me! A little extra lemon gives it a great zing, and it was just as good as a leftover the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield Park, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I too played with the recipe a bit, but the basic idea is a great one: take a healthy, inexpensive whole grain that on its own isn't the most flavorful thing out there, and add a bunch of great flavor in the form of healthy veggies. I used onion, garlic, mushrooms, carrots, and canned tomatoes for the veggie mix. I also used only about 2.5 cups liquid to make the barley. For spice I used salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, cayenne, and some smoked paprika for both flavor and a very nice deep red color. I'll definately add this to my repetoire of whole grain entrees. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
I was hesitant to try this because Barley can be so bland but I loved it. I followed the recipe although I added another half cup of carrots in lieu of the zucchini and instead of a dash of regular salt I used onion salt. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I've made this recipe twice now almost exactly as written. I use whatever vegetables I have on hand. Adding the lemon juice and olive oil at the end makes a huge difference and I love this dish. It has a creamy texture like risotto. Definetly worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msghd
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This recipe was good but I didn't have zucchini so I used onion, garlic, carrots, and broccoli. I also used 4 and a half cups of stock to make the barley and added pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, Italian seasoning and ground coriander. I had some left over shredded chicken so I also tossed that in. The family loved it and we all gave this a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msghd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Tasty. I used green beans instead of zucchini. I also added some cheese at the end for some extra creaminess. I am sure it can be adapted hundreds of ways but a great place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Good idea, as I enjoy barley, but needs much more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. H. Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I give this dish a big "meh". It was a great way to use up my veggies -- I used yellow onion, carrots, chopped fresh tomatoes, and fresh green beans -- but I found it pretty bland. I ate it and the leftovers, but my husband wouldn't touch it so I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Ross O'Neal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I've never enjoyed barley so much! The lemon juice really let this dish sing. I did not have fresh parsley so I used dried even that did not detract from the great combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
This is a terrific side dish with small enough vegetables even kids will enjoy it. Goes great with chicken and is refreshingly different than rice, potatoes or stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States