Barley Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I made this last night with a few small changes. I used vegetable broth to make it vegetarian and tossed in a handful of baby spinach when I added the zucchini. It was so good and reminded me of risotto because of the slight creaminess and texture. I served it in roasted red bell pepper halves. Not only did it taste good but it looked good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
It can handle a lot more vegetables than what the recipe calls for (and a little more lemon). On the whole, I was impressed, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
My husband and I really liked this recipe. I did add extra spices that a previous reviewer recommended and I think it really made a difference. 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth rather than 4 worked well with the quick (10 minute) Barley I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
We really enjoyed this dish! I added fresh mushrooms, fresh brocolli, and red bell pepper. Hubby had 3 servings and said he could eat it all. He's NEVER said that about any side dish. So this is a big hit for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I liked this, but it felt like there was something missing. The only change I made was using dried minced onion, but that's because I didn't have fresh on hand. I felt like it could use a bit more spice, I'm just not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Pretty good, but a little flat tasting. I did use bottled lemon juice so that may be the problem. I think green onions & extra parsley would be good additions would make this excellent. I paired it with "Simple Chard" from the site and the combo is really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I liked this easy to prepare recipe and the touch of lemon in it, but it was a teeny bit bland. I had to add spices and I will include more vegetables next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwdiaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by msghd
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This recipe was good but I didn't have zucchini so I used onion, garlic, carrots, and broccoli. I also used 4 and a half cups of stock to make the barley and added pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, Italian seasoning and ground coriander. I had some left over shredded chicken so I also tossed that in. The family loved it and we all gave this a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msghd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
YUMMMMMY ! I added chicken whe the barley was half way done. Turned out GREAT !!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flowers~Of~Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Tasty. I used green beans instead of zucchini. I also added some cheese at the end for some extra creaminess. I am sure it can be adapted hundreds of ways but a great place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States