Barley Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
Excellent side dish -- I even enjoyed the zuchini, which is a rarity for me! A little extra lemon gives it a great zing, and it was just as good as a leftover the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield Park, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I too played with the recipe a bit, but the basic idea is a great one: take a healthy, inexpensive whole grain that on its own isn't the most flavorful thing out there, and add a bunch of great flavor in the form of healthy veggies. I used onion, garlic, mushrooms, carrots, and canned tomatoes for the veggie mix. I also used only about 2.5 cups liquid to make the barley. For spice I used salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, cayenne, and some smoked paprika for both flavor and a very nice deep red color. I'll definately add this to my repetoire of whole grain entrees. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
I was hesitant to try this because Barley can be so bland but I loved it. I followed the recipe although I added another half cup of carrots in lieu of the zucchini and instead of a dash of regular salt I used onion salt. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I've made this recipe twice now almost exactly as written. I use whatever vegetables I have on hand. Adding the lemon juice and olive oil at the end makes a huge difference and I love this dish. It has a creamy texture like risotto. Definetly worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msghd
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This recipe was good but I didn't have zucchini so I used onion, garlic, carrots, and broccoli. I also used 4 and a half cups of stock to make the barley and added pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, Italian seasoning and ground coriander. I had some left over shredded chicken so I also tossed that in. The family loved it and we all gave this a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msghd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Tasty. I used green beans instead of zucchini. I also added some cheese at the end for some extra creaminess. I am sure it can be adapted hundreds of ways but a great place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Good idea, as I enjoy barley, but needs much more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. H. Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I give this dish a big "meh". It was a great way to use up my veggies -- I used yellow onion, carrots, chopped fresh tomatoes, and fresh green beans -- but I found it pretty bland. I ate it and the leftovers, but my husband wouldn't touch it so I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Ross O'Neal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I've never enjoyed barley so much! The lemon juice really let this dish sing. I did not have fresh parsley so I used dried even that did not detract from the great combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
This is a terrific side dish with small enough vegetables even kids will enjoy it. Goes great with chicken and is refreshingly different than rice, potatoes or stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States