Barley Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I cut the chicken into chunks and mixed into barley mixture. Added a bit of white wine. I ended up cooking about 20 minutes longer with the cover off to help evaporate some of the liquid. Very tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I made this twice. Once with the chicken as a meal but I found the chicken to be dry. However, I made it as a side dish and we liked it so much better. I cooked the bacon but omitted it from the recipe. I used the bacon grease to sauté vegetables. I used carrots, zucchini, onion and garlic. I chopped the zucchini and carrots into very small pieces. I added all of the spices and cooked it in a casserole dish. We really enjoyed it as a side dish, but not cooked with the chicken (I did the chicken separate).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ala Bohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
The recipe wasn't bad. It just wasn't anything special. We love barley in this family, and we decided it was better to make a seperate barley side dish, and something with a little more flavor as a chicken dish. I will keep it handy as a back up, because it is a nice change from the norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I used three slices of Nueskes bacon, which is a thick slice, smokey flavored bacon. Also changed the vegetables to what I had on hand: one small shallot, one clove garlic, red pepper, green and yellow zucchini. I had cooked chicken so just added that to the pot. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This recipe is yummy! I didn't add the bacon or mushrooms because I didn't have any. I also used basil and oregano the second time instead of the recommended spices, just because our family likes the basil/oregano taste better. This is a staple meal in our house now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Very tasty weekday meal. Just a couple of changes. I also sauteed the veggies first and added celery instead of the green pepper. Also used 3 tsps of poultry seasoning as I had no marjoram on hand and it turned out to be quite delicious. The sage and smoky bacon flavour go very well together. I also used 6 boneless, skinless chicken thighs along with 2 boneless skinless breasts to please the white meat eaters in the house! I would probably decrease the liquid to 2 c. of stock rather than 2 1/2 as I found it quite runny even after 1 hr & 20 minutes in the oven. All in all, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is very yummy and filling with a few changes made. First, I used turkey sausage instead of bacon. I added way more veggies and didn't rest them on top as suggested- I just dumped them all together. Also, instead of dark meat, I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts. All in all, a great recipe to play with- it's an excellent way to use up all the odd bits of veggies in your fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettyshoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Loved this recipe!! I was looking for a chicken casserole and it seemed every recipe was just a variation of something else. This one stood out as different. The first time I made it I took my time to get everything as the recipe called for (I didn't trim the fat from the bacon though). Now I just breeze through it. It's shocking how much this recipe makes, I was a little skeptical when I had all my ingredients prepped and was about to start cooking, but was pleased when I was cleaning up and saw I had enough for lunch the next day. Thanks for the great recipe! It's an instant classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I followed talltexan's advice and mixed all the ingredients in a greased baking dish, topped it with raw chicken, and sprinkled the chicken with herbes de provence and cracked pepper. Instead of measuring out each spice I just used around 1 Tb herbes de provence in the dish itself and subbed a whole bay leaf for the crushed. The end result would have been perfect but mine was so runny that I had to use a slotted spoon to serve. It was almost like a stew. I will definitely make this again with less broth or try baking it uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
i added cream of asparagus, cream of mushroom and it was great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States